Top Ten Books Featuring Travel

I LOVE traveling.  As in even going for a drive to a neighbouring town for something to do is quite awesome to me.  Patrick and I sometimes go on adventures where he picks which direction to go next and I drive and we just wander the countryside.  Very fun. 

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the fine folks at the Broke and the Bookish is the top ten books featuring travel.

  1. The Sisterhood of Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares.   I love the friendships featured in these books, but also it is pretty neat how much the pants (and these girls) travelled.  It is one of the reasons I want to go to Greece some day.
  2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  I have always had a fascination with boarding school, so the fact that this book takes me to a boarding school in France, no less, makes it awesome!
  3. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  A different sort of travel, but fascinating all the same.
  4. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  The first European country I ever visited was the Netherlands (if you don’t count my 4 hour layover in Frankfurt), so the fact that they visited Amsterdam makes this book even better.
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  Again, a different sort of travel, but going all over the world of Narnia is pretty fascinating.
  6. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  I recently finished this beast and quite liked it.  Again more time travel, but also travel around the U.S.  It was intriguing, to say the least.
  7. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.  This book takes you on a whirlwind adventure all over the place.  I remember reading it and how I wanted to visit all of the palces.  You really felt like you were trekking along with them.
  8. Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder.  This book makes me want to go to Haiti.   That isn’t a sufficient reason to do that, but it does.
  9. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.  This takes you from our world to another.  Very interesting, very bizarre.
  10. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  As Patrick told me, “they travel a lot.”

What are some of your favourite travel-related books?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Featuring Travel

  1. I thought of Narnia after I had already hit publish! Such a great one for it’s unconventional use of travel, for sure. Alice in Wonderland and Little House on the Prairie are also great choices.

  2. Oh some excellent choices!! The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants is perfect, I have been dying to read Anna and the French Kiss and why didn’t I think of DaVinci Code?!

    If you can, come on by and see what I chose over on SnifferWalk Books related to traveling!

Please, share your thoughts!

