Top Ten Best Beach Reads

It is my Birthday!  That means that it is almost summer and what better birthday present did my lovely husband give me, but my very own Kobo to welcome me to the 21st century style of reading. 

This all fits well with this week’s list with the Broke and the Bookish… My top ten best beach reads.  Here is the catch… I feel like I did this last year.  So, instead of the top ten books to read on the beach in general, I am tweaking the list to include books that I have read on the beach or by the pool (even if they aren’t really beachy sorts of books).

  1. Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin.  Such a light and yet strangely interesting read.
  2. A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen.  This is such a lovely little story we picked up at a train station in London that I read in entirety by the pool in Rome.  It makes me want to take Jeter busking, but something tells me that won’t work out quite as well.
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  I know, weird choice.  It was legitimately a really awesome book that I just happened to bring with me to the beach.
  4. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I read this series in entirety last summer and it was better than I remember it.
  5. Gray Matter by Gary Braver.  A neurosurgeon who writes about his faith and medicine and how he chooses to pray for his patients.  Interesting and seemingly rare perspective.
  6. Marley and Me by John Grogan.  This was one of the funniest and most heart-string pulling books I have read.  It still makes me want a dog.
  7. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling.  This book was laugh out loud funny to me no matter whether I was reading it in the car or on the beach.
  8. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  I read this throughout one summer at camp, including on a trip to the beach or supervising at the pool, so I figure this counts.  One of the best books ever, even if it is a wee bit long!
  9. The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis.  This was my series to read a few summers ago and it was so fun at taking you to all kinds different worlds with all kinds of bigger meaning.
  10. Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult.  Like Jodi Picoult can do, this book brings up all sorts of controversial issues and has the surprise ending and all that good stuff.

I do have to mention an honourable mention for beach reading – my MCAT study book.  Not the best book and not an honourable mention, but it makes for a good story.

What are some of your favourite beach reads?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Beach Reads

  1. Right before you got to your honorable mention I was thinking about how I read Crime and Punishment for summer reading before my senior year of high school! Totally a beach read, right? 😉 I honestly don’t discriminate between type of story and where it’s read.

  2. I recently got a kobo too, and I LOVE it…and I can read it at the gym cause I don’t have to hold it open 🙂

  3. Happy birthday! And congrats on the Kobo! I got a Glo recently and I’m in love with it.

    I’ve never discriminated which books I read on the beach. The first time I read “Pride and Prejudice” was on the beach; I still have a water stain on the back cover from when I got really into it and put it down directly on the wet sand.

    • I have a Glo too and so far, I quite like it.
      I am glad to not be the only person who will bring any book to the beach, although I will also admit to accidental sand, sogginess and sunscreen on my books.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Beach Bag Books | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

