Top Ten Books On My Summer To Be Read List (2013)

It is just about summer time and it is Tuesday.  That means it must be time for the Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish where I write about my top ten books on my summer to be read list.

I feel as if many of these have been on my spring or winter or fall or even last summer’s TBR list.  Nonetheless, I will include repeats, especially because I am just picking the ten books that I not only want to read, but some of them are books that I have at or near my possession, so I should actually get around to reading them in the summer (I am learning that want to read, and have a chance to read are really two different beasts).

  1. Paper Towns by John Green.  The Child lent it to me and Patrick has read it and now it is sitting on our coffee table staring me down.  It is quite literally next up on my list once I finish the book I am currently reading.
  2. Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  I read Divergent last week and it was so good, so I am pumped to read Insurgent and the other sequel once it comes out.  I have a request in to the library to get the ebook of it, but there were about 10 people ahead of me.  At least I know I will acquire it at some point soon.
  3. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.    I watched the movie on a plane last year and loved it, then picked the book up at a used book store a few months ago, but still haven’t gotten around to reading it.
  4. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia.  This is another book I borrowed from the Child.  I want to know what the hype is all about.
  5. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  I really liked The Kite Runner, so I have high hopes for this book, which is also residing somewhere on our shelves.
  6. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.  I downloaded this to my Kobo last week.  I keep considering picking it up, especially since it comes so highly revered and recommended.  I hope I like it better than War and Peace.
  7. Where We Belong and/or Baby Proof by Emily Giffin.  I read two of her books last summer, so they are delightfully light and summery reads, I just need to borrow/acquire them at some point.
  8. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith.  I know, it sounds silly and is yet another YA novel on my list, but this does sound super cute.
  9. Lord of The Rings/The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien.  I know, these are on my list every season and have been repeatedly.  I do really want to try to read them.  And I know someone who has them.  I just need to pick one up and get going on that.
  10. The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jona Jonasson.  The title alone draws me in! Patrick and I both want to read this, so I am sure we will acquire it during the summer.  Nothing better than a spunky old man escaping his own party and going out on what sounds like an epic adventure.

What are some of the books on your summer to be read list?  Any recommendations?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Summer To Be Read List (2013)

  1. A very similar list to mine. John Green is one my favourite authors, so I would definitely recommend him! Tolkien too. I would also recommend ‘Looking for Alaska’ and ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ if you end up enjoying ‘Paper Towns’. Happy summer reading! 🙂

    • I have read ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ and loved it! The plan is to read everything else John Green because I keep hearing such good things!
      Happy summer reading to you too!

  2. Statistical Probability is on my list as well, and LOTR and The Hobbit are on my TBR but beyond the ten I listed today. Insurgent’s pacing was strange to me, but the end of the book got me excited for Allegiant.

    • LOTR and The Hobbit are always the ones I consider not including because I question when I will get around to them. One day. Hopefully in the summer.
      Divergent got me excited for Insurgent, so I hope I feel the same (at least with respect to looking forward to Allegiant).

    • Glad you liked the list.
      I am looking forward to Paper Towns. Everyone tells me it is great.
      I like to mix it up a lot… As evidenced by the Tolstoy/Emily Giffin combo.

    • I feel like I have had Paper Towns in my posession forever. Probably because it keeps staring at me saying, “Read me!” Hope you get to it too.

  3. You will LOVE A Thousand Splendid Suns.
    As for Tolkien – I really disliked The Hobbit and therefore am not going to read the mountain that is LotR. I would suggest reading Hobbit first to see if you like his style.

    • Thanks for the heads up about Tolkien. My plan was to start with the Hobbit and go from there. So many people really like it, so I feel like it needs a chance, but I looked at LOTR when I was in high school, but even the back cover didn’t entice me. I figure it is a different time and time just to open it up.
      I am glad to hear high praise for A Thousand Splendid Suns. I am excited to read it.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Fall (2013) TBR List | At least we made it this far...

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Summer 2014 TBR List | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

