Top Ten Books I Have Read So Far In 2013

The calendar year is half over, so it seems fitting that today’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is the list of the top ten books I have read so far this year.

I had to go check Goodreads to make sure that I actually choose accurately.  As it turns out, I have read for the first time (including books for school) 18 books in total (slightly extrapolated from my Goodreads account because I don’t put in all of the books I read for school as completed or started because they are just in a cycle).  That is pretty slim pickings to choose a top ten.

1.  Divergent by Veronica Roth.    I loved this an am waiting excitedly for when the Insurgent is available at the library.  I have been looking to read it for a bit since reading all of these rave reviews on blogs, but it took stumbling upon the first one in the library to finally pick it up.

2.  The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.   This is another “I saw it raved about by so many book bloggers, it must be good” book.  And it is amazing.  Seriously, go read it now.  Between the humor and realism, I have declared it one of my new all-time favourite books.

3.  Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  The sheer volume of YA books on this list shocks me.  But, I have been reading a lot of YA this year.  Again, I blame reading the book blogs.  I was surprised by how much I liked this one, though.  Something about the Paris-boarding school combo, I think.

4-7.  Green, Red, Black, & White (The Circle series) by Ted Dekker.  I confess I started these at the end of December, butI still claim they count because I finished the entire book with the full series in it sometime in January.  This series surprised me.  It was interesting to see the imagery and Biblical parallels.

8.  11/22/63 by Stephen King.  Although I wouldn’t put this in my top ten ever, it was a pretty crazy read and well-written.  Time travel blows my mind, as do books that are written in the past while keeping historic events relevant, so it was pretty cool.

9.  The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank.  This is another book that was good, but not great.  I liked how it took little chunks of her life over time.

10.  The Great Gatsby by Scott F. Fitzgerald.  I wanted to read this classic before seeing the movie.  I got it done, but still missed the movie in theatres.  It was good.  It was also stranger than I thought.  I don’t know what I expected, but it wasn’t what I got.

Well, there you have it.  What good books have you read so far this year?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Have Read So Far In 2013

  1. 11/22/63 is so well-done! I thought it would be intimidating, but ended up rushing through it. All these bloggers raving about The Fault in our Stars must have won me over. I think my hold in the library is about to come up so I’ll finally get to read it.

    • Once I got into it, it didn’t take as long as I thought it would.
      I love it when my library holds become available. Hope you enjoy The Fault in our Stars!

  2. Read “11/22/63” and found it interesting. My daughter read “The Fault in Our Stars” and “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and loved both of them. I am saving them for our beach trip. I love YA fiction and read a lot of it. I would love to write YA fiction. Taking courses in writing for children and YA online now. Loved the list. Sandy

    • The “The Fault in our Stars” is so good! And it would make an excellent beach read, although I must warn you that you may cry!
      That is neat that you are taking children/YA writing courses. Sounds interesting!

Please, share your thoughts!

