Medical Mondays: The Day The Memory Stick Died…

Today is Medical Monday!  Woot, woot!

That means today is the day where I and other medically-associated bloggers get to write posts and link up.  Check out the others at this button below.

A few weeks ago, I was on-call and sat down to plug away at my research project when my memory stick failed to work in my laptop.  Or in Patrick’s laptop.

Well, you can imagine my horror when that happened…

There were hours and hours of mind numbing data entry on that stick.

Image from franksheepfoot.wordpress.com.

So, after a small emotional meltdown, I decided there was nothing I could do about it, but tell my supervisors and go see if the magicians at the university’s computing services office could fix it.

Have you ever tried to go see computing services when you work a minimum 9 or 10 hours per day?  Especially in the summer when everyone except you seems to have reduced hours?

It is a challenge.

Finally, almost two full weeks after the stick ceased to function, I made my way from the hospital to the other side of the university campus to see the computing services people.  They were super helpful and much cheaper than the estimates I saw online from private companies (that made me question whether it would be worth it to fix it).

The stick was ready the next day and my super husband picked it up for me (thank goodness, or I wouldn’t be able to get it for another week).  The nice guy at computer services gave me my old stick to show us as a souvenir what he had to do to get my data back.IMG_0743

I thought it was pretty cool.  So cool, in fact, it is on the bulletin board above my desk in the residents’ room.

So, life lesson, boys and girls… Back up your data.

The R1 on the service with me had another good point… “That is what happens when you are being too keen.”

8 thoughts on “Medical Mondays: The Day The Memory Stick Died…

  1. I’m glad you got your data back! I have so much stuff on my USB drive, and I try to back it up sometimes, but it usually only happens like twice a year. There were times I thought I lost data and nearly lost it myself, so I can imagine how you felt!

    • I went through a phase where I was awesome at backing up my computer data (because my laptop was hovering on the brink of death). I never really thought about backing up my memory stick data for some reason.

  2. Forget about the brown bag, I would’ve gone straight to the commode to empty the contents of my stomach!! I will back up tonight!!
    Great to have you on the grid for our year anniversary! I hope you entered the giveaway! 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

