Top Ten Favourite Secondary Characters

The Top Ten Tuesday topic this week with the fine folks at the Broke and the Bookish is pretty awesome.  They ask for a list of your top ten favourite secondary characters.

I love how supporting characters often bring out the best or worst in the main character of the book and make things just that bit more interesting.   The problem is that sometimes, I just want to see more of the secondary character because they are just so great too!

  1. Cousin Jimmy from L.M. Montgomery’s Emily of New Moon series.  He was “simple” to the people in the book, but I liked him because he was different than everyone else and he really brought out good in Emily and others around him in his own way.  Plus, I don’t really think he was as “simple” as people thought.
  2. Marcus “Radar” Lincoln from John Green’s Paper Towns.  He cracked me up endlessly.  An awesome, socially awkward and strangely real guy, he is best friend to main character Quentin.  I would read a book just about him and his adventures.  Or be his friend.
  3. A.R. Black in Jonathan Safran Foer’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  This old man from upstairs in the apartment building is a brand of unique that I only hope to find one day in a random old man in my apartment building.  Between being sweet enough to hang with Oskar, he has those kinds of quirks that make him believable and loveable.  Plus anyone who keeps library catalogues of everyone they meet with a one word description is cool in my books.
  4. Mullah Faizullah from Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns.  He may not be in all of the book, but he has such a huge impact on the life of Miriam and was a valuable teacher and father figure who clearly valued her very much, even when she and others did not see her value or place in life.
  5. Tori from Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Insurgent.  She plays such a minor and yet huge role in the progression of the novel.  I like that she acts as a bit of a mentor and confidante for Tris that she has a back story that slowly becomes more and more apparent over time.
  6. Bishop Myriel from Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables.  He gets little time in the book, but he offers a good look a true redemption and love for mankind.
  7. Max Vandenburg from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  His friendship with Liesel and the anguish he went through are both wonderfully portrayed.  He adds a lot to the story and connects the family to the war being waged.
  8. Cinna from Suzanne Collin’s Hunger Games series.  As much as my inner self wanted to hate the stylist who wanted to change everything about Katniss to make her popular, I soon realized he didn’t want to change her, just save her.  I like how he did things and how he stood his ground.
  9. George (Georgia) Fayne from Carolyn Keane’s Nancy Drew series.  I will be honest and say that I always wanted to be Nancy Drew, but I think I related to George too.  She was the more intense of the crew and very independent.  She kind of pushed boundaries and I think that makes her interesting, especially if you look at the era most of the books came from.
  10. Isaac from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  I loved the bromance between he and Gus and how their friendship evolved over time, as well as his bond with Hazel.  Plus, oh, the eulogy!

Who are some of your favourite secondary characters?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Secondary Characters

  1. Is Tori the tattoo artist? For some reason I literally can’t keep any of the characters straight in Divergent and Insurgent except Tris, Four, Caleb, and a couple others. Also, yes to Max and Cinna!

    • Yes, Tori is the tattoo artist. I found it tough to keep them all straight at times too. I had similar struggles with all of the Hunger games tributes and such over the course of the series.

Please, share your thoughts!

