Top Ten Books I Would Like To See As A Movie or TV Show

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the folks at the Broke and the Bookish is the top ten books I’d like to see as a movie or TV show.

I am not a big book into movie person.  In fact, I have mixed feelings about the whole concept.  I always want to go see movies based on books I have read, but I almost always get aggravated at how they didn’t do it the way I would have wanted or pictures.  That being said, lots of books have potential to make good movies (potential is the key word here).

I did this list last May (check it out), but I will make another go of it and avoid repeats.  I tend to be oblivious to pop culture, so it is likely that half of these are already in the works to be made into movies, but I will at least try to avoid series that are on their way sooner rather than later like The Hunger Games.

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  Yes, I am aware that this is being made into a movie and it looks fantastic, so I am including it.  I only stipulate that Death needs to narrate and keep the dark humor in it… Otherwise I will be crushed.
  2. Paper Towns by John Green.  The characters in this book cracked me up, plus it is full of action and randomness.  It would make a great movie, light with just the right amount of geekery and romance.
  3. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  This could be a movie or a TV series if things were kept appropriate to the timeline and such.  Lots of characters, lots of drama.  It has potential to be an epic creation, just like the book.
  4. The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.  Again, this could be an epic movie, kind of like Forest Gump, but it would need to be kept true to the timeline and eras and such.  Plus, casting of the crazy characters would be key, particularly in making sure the old mand is sufficiently aged.
  5. The Circle series by Ted Dekker.  I am not sure if I would watch it because the book was barely in my liking of genres, but it was a fascinating read and it is sufficiently long and full of characters and such that it would make a good TV series.  It could also do movie, but I feel like TV would do it more justice.
  6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  Classic chick flick.  I am not a huge fan of such things, but yet I have a strange weakness for them at times.  I would totally see this.  I’d probably laugh and mock, but I would watch it.
  7. A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen.  Wonderful feel good story for a movie.  I have heard it is in the works, but I watched an interview with James Bowen a few weeks ago and it wasn’t mentioned, although he has another books out that I need to read (The World According To Bob).
  8. Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I know it is a musical that I long to see (but may or may not have the soundtrack memorized), but I would love to see this (and possibly the other books from the series I have not yet read) crafted into a movie of sorts.  Even just the musical in movie form would do, although I would love it if it were a bit truer to the book.
  9. House Rules by Jodi Picoult.  I liked how this book presented how things are not always how they may appear and how life is impacted when there is a child with special needs in the family and how autism is seen in society.  Definitiely a movie, not TV show.
  10. The House of God by Samuel Shem.  Either a TV series (because medical TV shows are a dime a dozen these days) or a well put together movie.  The characters are crazy, it is more realistic than at least half the stuff on TV, but I think the key will be keeping it set in the era it was written.

What are some books you would like to see be made into movies or TV series (and not butchered)?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Would Like To See As A Movie or TV Show

Please, share your thoughts!

