Top Ten Books On My Fall (2013) TBR List

It is the last real week of Summer.  That means it is time to compile my to be read list for the Fall as the top ten Tuesday list with the Broke and the Bookish

I am excited to say that I acutally read everything on my Fall to be read list last year by this Fall.  Very exciting.  I also accomplished reading most of my Summer TBR list (minus the Tolstoy and LOTR/Hobbit duo that seem to crop up on my list every season or two… One day I will read them!).

I am trying to choose realistically (books that are actually available to me, but I will probably put down some that are on my list that I still need to track down somewhere, somehow.

  1. Looking For Alaska by John Green.  This is a “need to somehow acquire” book, but hopefully I can track it down this Fall.  I have loved everything John Green that I have read/watched.
  2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth.  I read the first two books of the series this summer and am now excitedly awaiting the release of the third.
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith.  I am intrigued by this one, so one of these days I will track it down to check it out.  I hear it is good.
  4. The rest of the Caster Chronicles series by Kami Garcia.  Feel free to judge.  I borrowed Beautiful Creatures from the Child this summer and as ridiculous as it was, it was one of those books that took you somewhere else and felt kind of fun to read.
  5. Exit Papers From Paradise by Liam Card.  A plumber decides to get out of a rut and go to med school.  I am intrigued and it was on sale for the Kobo for a ridiculous bargain.  Win!
  6. The Truth About Luck by Iain Reid.  A story about a 28 year old writer and his 92 year old grandmother.  I am a sucker for books with old people in them.
  7. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.  I always seem to love his books, even if they often crush my sould. I am sure this one won’t disappoint.
  8. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell.  I keep seeing it on lists.  Plus, it is set in my birth year and they are misfits.
  9. I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak.   The Book Thief was excellent.  This sounds very different, but the concept of taking an ordinary guy and having him complete certain tasks to help people seems fascinating.
  10. Someday, Someday, Maybe: A Novel by Lauren Graham.  I don’t recognize the names of most actors/actresses, but Lauren Graham is one of my favourites.  The novel sounds entertaining, plus the Child has it in her possession, so I can actually borrow it!

What are some of the books on your Fall to be read list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Fall (2013) TBR List

  1. I have the same problem as you when it comes to putting books on my TBR list when I’m not actually sure about buying them or acquiring them soon! I was trying to keep my list realistic this time as well. I haven’t heard anyone talk about I Am the Messenger, so if you get around to reading it I’d be interested in what you think about it!

    • It is tough to do for some reason when you don’t know if you are actually going to get the book. I guess the good thing is that sometimes my husband uses the list do do his shopping for me, so that means sometimes the books miraculously appear.

      If I can track down I Am The Messenger and read it, I will let you know!

  2. Yay for Looking for Alaska and Eleanor & Park – I loved them both!
    Please let me know how Exit Papers is… sounds like a good read!
    I haven’t read Hosseini’s new book… I’m a little nervous about it, I guess.

    • I read Exit Papers this weekend and it was terrible! I don’t recommend it.
      I look forward to tracking down Eleanor & Park. And I totally get being nervous about Hosseini’s book. I feel I have to pick my moments to read his books.

  3. Hey Trisha! this looks like a list I’d make,,so im just going to be lazy and use yours 🙂 Glad to see you drop by my blog..see you around doc!

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Winter (2013/14) TBR List | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

