Posing for the camera

This one time, I went to a conference.

There, my fellow resident who I will call the Wizard did a presentation on his super fascinating research.

Then, I went to the awards dinner and sat way at the back with a bunch of strangers from the other side of the country.  The Wizard did not come.

The beautiful venue of the dinner where I played a bit of pretend...

The beautiful venue of the dinner where I played a bit of pretend…

As it turns out, the Wizard won an award for the best presentation.  Because he is awesome.

I was the only other person there (other than the person presenting the award) from our institution, so I had to accept it on his behalf.

I got to parade through the masses of tables and collect it.  While my table full almost entirely of just-about-strangers cheered me on.

Then, they (as in the conference people, not my table) took pictures of me and the other winners (most of whom were also proxies… I guess all the cool, smart kids skipped dinner).  I was the Wizard stand-in.

I think it is rather bizarre how they had the stand-ins in the photos.  I mean, sure, have someone grab the stuff to give it to the person, but now, my face is in pictures?  Weird.

Posing with my pretend award for yet another camera.

Posing with my pretend award for yet another camera.

It does make for a bizarre story.

They said we need to be memorable in this job market.  I wonder if they will remember the girl who pretended to be the Wizard for the night and forwarded their complements about his wonderful research and stuff will be sufficient?

 

 

 

Please, share your thoughts!

