Top Ten Best Sequels

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and Bookish is a list of the top ten best sequels ever.  I am one of those people who HAS to finish series of books, even if I don’t really love the sequels (just like I have watched all 10 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy even though it started getting ridiculous somewhere around season 4 or 5).  That being said, there are some excellent sequels out there in the world.  

  1. The entire Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling.  This series was good and stayed good throughout.  I liked how the characters actually legitimately grew up with the books.
  2. The Babysitters Club series by Ann M. Martin.  I LOVED this series as a kid and I would argue that the way the different points of view were used throughout the books and the continuation of characters and subplots despite independent novels was great.
  3. The Circle series by Ted Dekker.   I would say Red and White were better sequels than Green, but still I like that things resolved, kind of.
  4. Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.  Let’s face it, the series was great and the books were actually each unique, but in sync enough with the first book that it makes sense in a series.
  5. Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  Again, very cool tie-ins with the first book in the series and stayed true to the characters and gave more back story to things mentioned in the first novel.  Plus, it made you want to read the next book in the series.
  6. Anne of Avonlea and Anne of the Island (and maybe Anne of Windly Poplars) by L.M. Montgomery.  Okay, it has been a long time since I read these, but the first few sequels in the series were more of the Anne I knew and loved from the first book and less “other stuff.”
  7. Prince Caspian or The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis.  I like the first few books when the Pevensie children are in them.  After they go, the books are still good, but not as great to me.  I know, it is the world, not the kids that make the books.   But, I guess it is both to me.
  8. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I loved the whole series, but this was my favourite sequel.
  9. Something Blue by Emily Giffin.  I did enjoy seeing the other side to the story and the aftermath that ensues from Something Borrowed.  I would argue that they are also good stand alones, though.
  10. Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer.  I was hesitant to put this, but I needed a tenth book and this was a good sequel.  I liked it more than New Moon and it stuck with the whole plot and character scheme well before things kind of went downhill in Breaking Dawn.

I don’t know if I would call these all the best sequels “ever,” but they were all pretty good.

What are your favourite sequels?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Sequels

    • There were and I am pretty sure I read alllllll of them published pre-1997 (aka, until I grew out of them). I was intense. I haven’t read all of the more recent additions. True story.

  1. If I had done this TTT, Prince Caspian would have definitely been on my list, but also The Silver Chair, which I loved almost as much as The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Catching Fire is also a great sequel!

Please, share your thoughts!

