The difference between 2.5 and 3.5

Today, I was having a conversation with a patient and they asked where I was in my residency.  I said I was in my second year.  They then asked how much longer I had to go?  Four years, maybe?

I excitedly said almost two and a half.

Then, I got even more excited in my head because that meant I was half way done.

That put a little bounce in my step most of the morning.

Image via gifninja.com.

I mean, it all seems so quick.  Being half done already, it feels like I barely started.  I mean, that means if we reproduce at some point, I would have only three and a half years left.

That is almost nothing at this point in the grand scheme of things.

It still seemed quick.

Then, my junior physics class was cancelled for the day.   I sat down to work on my application for an epidemiology course I want to do next month and got distracted for a minute looking at blog stats and thinking.

Then it hit me.

Image from gifbay.com.

I was wrong.

I have only been a resident for over a year.  I have three and a half years left.  I even confirmed it with my countdown at the bottom of the blog, just to prove it to myself a little bit more.  Four and a half if I happen to reproduce.  That is almost a whole residency left to go.  Not even counting fellowships.

No wonder it seemed like it went by too fast.

It hadn’t actually gone by yet.

Well, that knocked my bounce down to a slow drag.

Image from awesomegifs.com.

I apparently need to work on my mental math skills today.

Also, this is clear evidence that false hope is still hope.

4 thoughts on “The difference between 2.5 and 3.5

  1. I can’t even count the number of times a similar thing has happened to me. But don’t worry, Trisha, you are still IN YOUR RESIDENCY! There are many many many of us who are still counting the years to get THERE. 🙂

    • Haha! I am so glad I am not the only person who miscounts! And yes, I am glad that I am still actually in my residency.
      You’ll be there soon! Time flies, especially if you accidentally skip a year or two!

  2. The worst time I’ve ever miscounted was with my checkbook. I can keep the calendar of approaching or impending events pretty accurate. Of the two, I would rather muck up the calender. Sandy

Please, share your thoughts!

