LMCC est fini part two

A year and a half ago I wrote the first part to this post.  Well, kind of.  Check it out here.

A year and a half ago, I finished the first part of the LMCC.  It was a traumatic exam at the end of my fourth year of medical school.  I was warned that it would feel like I failed, but that in reality almost all Canadian grads pass it.

Today, I finished the second part of the LMCC.  This was the practical part.  The part where we wander from room to room pretending to be doctors while people pretend to be patients and then we answer questions about how we would doctor them in real life.    I was warned that it would also feel like death.  But again, that most Canadian, English as a first language grads do okay with it.

That being said, I seem to know a disproportionate number of people who failed.

That gave me some significant test taking anxiety.

I mean, I can count on one hand the things that count that I failed.  And by that, I really can only think of one thing.  And really, I was expected to fail that.

But still, between my intense imposter syndrome, my usual performance anxiety and the terror that comes from exams that cost almost my entire month’s pay and basically are necessary to my future employment, I was fearful.

Fearful is actually probably not the best word.  I was scared poopless.  In fact, I had the worst exam anxiety that I have had in a long time.

But now it is done.

If you landed here looking for exam advice.  I have none except do some studying and be a good doctor and expect to forget something at most stations.

I can’t really say anything else in detail because the LMCC exam people are very serious about the whole not talking about the exam thing and talking about the experience in any further detail beyond me saying that it was a practical exam could get me in to big trouble.  Like losing my current credentials, legal action and all around badness kind of trouble.  I like my license.  And I really don’t want to have to do exams over again.  And I really, really don’t like any kind of trouble.

It doesn’t matter because I am done.  Hopefully, forever.  And if not, at least until Spring.

Now, just to wait the month or two before the results miraculously appear in my inbox.

To make me feel better we booked our free flights and started planning a trip to New York in the Spring.  I am so excited for that.

I am also pumped to get back to the rest of my life!

2 thoughts on “LMCC est fini part two

Please, share your thoughts!

