Twisted Mix-Tape: Fun Sing-A-Long

I loved doing the whole Twisted Mix-Tape thing for the last few weeks, I decided to do it again… Check out other entries My Skewed View.

This week is a freebie.  I do quite like freebies.

I grew up driving around in the car with my parents singing along to the radio… Or my very favourite Dirty Dancing soundtrack (it is amazing this tape did not break or  that my parents didn’t throw it at me).   Once I was in university, this love of driving around and singing continued, now with my friends.  We had certain songs, sometimes complete with actions that we drove around singing.  And, to this day, if you put us in a car, with those songs we still will do the same.

Now, I go for most drives along with Patrick and sometimes others like the Child and D come along.  And I still sing like a fool.  Certain songs bring it out more than others.  Certain songs even get Patrick singing along.

Thus brings me to my mixtape for the week.  A fun sing-a-long.

“500 Miles” by The Proclaimers.  Ah, I love The Proclaimers.  And I love this song like Marshall from How I Met Your Mother loves this song.   Particularly during road trips… Or when running.

“What Is This Feeling?” from the musical Wicked.  I sang this in a dinner theatre back in undergrad with the rest of the cast and it was a great time to learn.  My friends and I sing it (in parts) complete with hitting the dashboard at key points for emphasis (can you tell how cool we were?).   We incorrectly called the song “Loathing” for years… And we may still do that.

“Hero” by Mariah Carey.  Now, this song brings me back to all sorts of badness.  Screeching along to this with dramatic arm actions is very therapeutic.  Very, very therapeutic.  At least to me.

“Feel the Same Way Too” by The Rankins.  A combination of childhood and being a Maritimer makes this a go-to pick.  Lots of vocal changes, some harmonies and a good pace make this an excellent sing-along song.

“Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey.  This was my med school class’s theme song, but also it is the ring tone on my phone and possibly one of my favourite songs of all time.  How can one not sing along.  I have an irresistable urge to sing the “dah dah dahs” from the Glee version… Sometimes I just crack out the Glee version to be honest.

What are some of your favourite songs to sing along to?

2 thoughts on “Twisted Mix-Tape: Fun Sing-A-Long

  1. I’d never heard of the Rankin Family, but there’s something I find catchy about that song. And who can ignore the urge to sing along with I’m Gonna Be. I have a fondness for this theme since it was the very first one I participated in for TMT. Great list!

    • I think they aren’t very well known outside of very Eastern Canada, but they are catchy!
      “I’m Gonna Be” is overwhelmingly sing alongish. I saw The Proclaimers in concert a few years ago and everyone sang along with that song. Everyone.
      Thanks for stopping by!

Please, share your thoughts!

