Twisted MixTape: Epic

I was really excited when I saw this week’s Twisted MixTape topic.  Really excited.

I know, it isn’t evidenced by the number of days after the topic was posted that I finally write the post.  But I truly was pumped.

This week’s topic is called “This One Is Epic.”  Songs that tell a story.  Check out other people’s selections over at My Skewed View.

I have a fascination with songs that have stories behind them.  I have for as long as I remember.  My parents we really big on songs that tell a story when I was a kid, so I think that is where it started.  Also, let’s get realistic here… I love music and I love books, so it is only sensible that I love songs that tell a story.

“The Night That Patty Murphy Died” by Great Big Sea.  To open things up…  An Irish drinking song about a dead man.  Now, this is an epic story.  Any time someone forgets the dead body on the way to the cemetery is a good time.

“An American Draft Dodger in Thunder Bay” by Sam Roberts.  I remember first being introduced to this song (and Sam Roberts) in general by a friend in undergrad who now, interestingly, lives in Thunder Bay.  What a history lesson (of sorts) in a song.

“Rebecca Lynn” by Bryan White.  Ah, Bryan White was my first ever celebrity crush and I was introduced to him with this song.  I used to imaging I would one day find a love like Rebecca Lynn found in the boy singing this song.  So cute.

“He’s Walking Her Home” by Mark Schultz.  I feel like this was really overplayed a few years ago.  But, if I want to be realistic about it, I was the one that overplayed it.  Classic boy meets girl, falls in love, gets married and then (spoiler alert) girl dies.  Awe.

“One Day Soon” by Vocal Few.  This song brings tears to my eyes in a not so sad way.  The song was written by the lead singer about his daughter and where he sees their life going.  Between the music and the lyrics, it melts my heart.

“Submarines” by The Lumineers.  I know, another week of me cheating with six songs.  I wanted to end on a more upbeat note and the piano from “One Day Soon” transitioned well into the piano in “Submarines.”   Also, there is sometimes a submarine that we can legitimately see in the harbor in our lovely costal town.  Just saying… It can happen.

What are some of your favourite “epic” songs?

5 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Epic

  1. Can you believe I didn’t know any of these songs!!! Thank you so much for linking up again, and introducing me to these great tunes! I’m sorry it took so long to read this. 45 links this week!!! Talk about EPIC!

    • That is what I like the most about this link-up. There are always new songs on the different lists. Glad to have introduced you to some new stuff!
      And 45 links… That is epic! Congratulations!

  2. Pingback: Twisted Tuesday’s Mix-Tape: The Color of Music | Cheri Speak

Please, share your thoughts!

