Top Ten Books I Would Recommend To X Person

It is Tuesday and it is Top Ten Tuesday day with the folks over at the Broke and Bookish.  This week’s list is books we’d recommend to x person.

I read a lot… Like most of the people who do this meme.  As a result, I am often being asked for book recommendations, so this is theoretically an easy one.

For the person who is insatiably curious:

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  I like the combination of the human and scientific sides of the HeLa cells.  Great information and easy to read and manages to bring up questions as it answers others.

For the cat lover:

  • A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen.  I have mentioned this book on here a bunch of times and I will repeat it again…  Such a cute story about a man and his somewhat unusual cat.

For the dog lover:

  • The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.  This book is written from the perspective of a dog, Enzo, which is interesting.  The story is interesting, but the perspective and the way it was done is really beautiful.

For someone who wants to cry their face off:

  • Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay.  This book crushed my soul on multiple levels.  I advise reading it only if you are open to crying and feeling kind of disturbed.

For someone with a relatively short attention span:

  • My Life as an Experiment by A.J. Jacobs.  This is a series of almost shorter stories with the different experiements A.J. Jacobs subjected himself (and his family) to over the course of the years.  He did everything from outsourcing his life to strict truth telling to living the various laws of the Bible literally.  Funny and broken up in to manageable chunks.

For a math nerd in need of a few laughs.

  • An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.  All of his books are funny, but some are more serious than others.  This one is fully of hilarity and mathy goodness.

For the person who fears Stephen King books:

  • 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  Confused?  I was a person who feared Stephen King books just because of the reputation of them being scary and me being a big chicken.  This book, however, I was told was similar to his previous books, but had different flair to it all.  I loved it… Time travel, intricate plots and fascinating twists.  A surprisingly good time in a giant book.

If you hate the color orange (in which case we might not be able to be friends):

  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon.  The main character of the book hates the color orange with a passion.  That really gives nothing away about the book, but besides his orange issue, he was a cool kid and it was an interesting story.

People who love “Les Miserables” the musical and/or movie:

  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  Read the book!  The book is as good or better than these things, even if the music is awesome.  It is so much more rich and three dimensional.

For when you feel awkward and bizarre as a girl:

  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kailing.  This may say something about me, but I laughted hysterically the entire time I read this book and mostly it was because I could relate.  I may still be awkward and a bit weird, but at least I’m not alone in that.
11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Would Recommend To X Person

    • It is so worth it. I haven’t read the abridged version. It can be slow in parts and sometimes, I questioned why a particular scene dragged out, but I feel like it all added to the story in the end.

  1. I’ve only read one of these (The Art of Racing in the Rain) so I’m putting several of these on my long list of to-read books! I’ve been wanting to read the last one for a good long while now as I’ve read several blogs about it. Saw it in Target the other day so might have to get it! I want to read “A Street Cat Named Bob” for sure!! I do love cats!

    • The to-read list continues to expand. It is a lovely, but frustrating phenomenon.
      You should get it. It is funny.
      And a hundred times yes for “A Street Cat Named Bob.” He also has another book out called “The World According to Bob” that we have and Patrick has read.

  2. I am going to order A Street Cat Named Bob! I need a good read. Have you read Dewey? Another heart-warming story for cat-lovers 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

