Top Ten Books I Read In 2013

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish was the list of the top ten books I read in 2013.

I clearly missed the Tuesday bandwagon, but it is still New Years day, which means it is still socially acceptable to look back on stuff like that, so I will still stick with it and do the list.

On a sad note, my goal was to read 67 books.  I only made it to 48.  I find it disappointing, but given how insane this past year has been, I guess I can get over that.

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  I picked this up to read before seeing the movie.  We missed the movie.  I finished it the week before it left theatres.  Too bad.
  2. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  This is probably one of my favourite books of all times.  I could laugh and cry and all that good stuff, plus the characters were so relatable.
  3. Insurgent and Divergent by Veronica Roth.  These were both great books.  I am counting them as one just because of the series nature of them.
  4. The Truth About Luck by Iain Reid.  This was an adorable story.  I love old people and adventures and this was a great combination.  It kind of reminded me of Patrick and his Grandmother.
  5. The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared  by Jonas Jonasson.  More old people and adventures.  Plus, this one was funny.  Patrick described it as kind of being like Forest Gump in the way that the old man just had a hand in on everything.
  6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.  Light, funny and set in the lovely city of Paris in a boarding school.  All things I quite like.  Well, minus the romance… I’m not usually that big on romance.
  7. 11/22/63 by Stephen King.  I can’t believe this is on my list.  But, it was so well written and interesting to read.  Kind of mind blowing.
  8. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green.  The math, the funny characters… All quite lovely.
  9. The Art of Racing In the Rain by Garth Stein.  Confession… I listened to it on tape while I was laid up with the concussion, but it still counts because it is legitimately exactly what the book said.  I love the dog-man relationship in this book.  So sweet.
  10. Half-Baked: The Story of My Nerves, My Newborn and How We Both Learned to Breathe by Alexa Stevenson.  I picked this one up on a whim from the library and was pleasantly surprised.  The writer was funny, but told a heartfelt story.  I totally related to her worry and control issues, which had me laughing and nodding along the whole time.

What are some of your favourite reads of 2013?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read In 2013

  1. Ender’s Game made my list too. I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on the movie when you finally get to see it! (The same thing happened with me and The Book Thief movie… I was so sad!)

    • I really should just suck it up and watch the movie when it is in theatres, but I can’t bring myself to do it without reading the book. The good thing is that the movies eventually come out for home viewing… And that is cheaper and more convenient in a lot of ways.

Please, share your thoughts!

