Twisted MixTape: New To Me Music and Artists of 2013

I haven’t done a Twisted MixTape (hosted by Jen at My Skewed View) in a few weeks, but I love the topic this week and it has just plain been too long. 

This week’s topic is music that was new to you in 2013.  I am making it new to me music that was made by artists who were new to me in 2013.

“Gang of Rhythm” by R.E.V.O..  First of all, they also have a fantastic album.  But this song is great because they use the music to really portray the feel of a locomotive.  Also, I am in love with their harmonies.

“The Road” by the Vocal Few.   I have a new found love for Vocal Few and since “discovering” the band exists in August, both of their albums are played somewhat excessively.  This is probably my favourite song (or second favourite… I go back and forth) by them.

 “Song for Zula” by Phosphorescent.  Patrick saw this band play on a talk show and told me that I would probably like them.  I did.  This song brings out emotion in me that is mind blowing.

“Second Chance” by Rend Collective Experiment.  This song was one that I liked, but recently in church and D-group, we have been discussing the significance of the resurrection in our day to day lives and this song really brings it home for me.

“Anything Could Happen” by Ellie Goulding.  This song is such a huge pick-me-up, it is kind of bizarre.  It reminds me of this past summer for one reason or another, namely a road trip with a crew of friends, but it is also fantastic to run to.

As usual, I can go on and on.

What are some of your favourite new to you songs of 2013?

Please, share your thoughts!

