Top Ten Things On My Reading Wish List

This week’s top ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is a list of the top ten things on my reading wish list.  Basically a what I wish authors would write about kind of list. 

  1. Realistic nerdy girls.  None of this nerd gets a make over, or suddenly being smart becomes cool or becomes a football star or gets the cool boy.  Real life awkwardness that I can relate to, please.
  2. Historical fiction set in North America.  I feel like I have read a lot of WWII fiction set in Europe.  I’d love to get some perspective on what people thought it was like here.
  3. Realistic books about people with cancer, HIV, neurodegenerative disorders, autoimmune disorders, etcetera.  I find there aren’t many books that broach these topics well.  Lots of them throw around cancer, but don’t actually describe the experience well (from what I know and have seen) and even fewer talk about some of the other life threatening diseases that people experience.
  4. Married people who stay married.  I feel like many books are about people pursuing relationships or broken relationships or just not about that sort of relationship at all.  As someone who is married and married “young” for this generation, I would love to see more books that look realistically at those sorts of relationships.
  5. Road trips.  I love a good road trip.  Reading about them is the next best thing to me.
  6. Books WITHOUT religious and cultural stereotypes.  They are annoying.  I love reading about people with similar and different cultural and religious backgrounds, but I can do without the stereotyping that goes on.
  7. NO love triangles.  Love triangles are so very overdone.  Please just let people have normal relationships like normal people.  Please.
  8. Family values.  This kind of goes along with the marriage thing.  I want to see books where the parents are around, where there are actual sibling relationships and all that good stuff.  Maybe I live in a bubble, but I like my bubble.
  9. Well-written retellings.  I was a huge fan of “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries” and I would love to read this in book form.  If I had to pick another that would make an interesting retelling, I might pick Les Mis.  But, I really want to be sure that the books are actually good before I take the time to read a retelling that might just really be out there in left field or too similar.
  10. Fiction about university, grad school and professional school.  Real stuff that I can relate to.  I feel like those are way cooler times in life than high school.

 

What topics do you want to see more often?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Things On My Reading Wish List

  1. I like number 10 the best. I suggest F. Scott Fitzgerald’s This Side of Paradise. It’s a great look at collegiate life. As someone with a literary blog, I’m really into the modern classics, so F. Scott would definitely be on my list of suggestions! Interesting post, by the way.

  2. I like your list, especially #3 and #4. I wrote a ten part series in my blog about my journey with my mother and her cancer (starting from her diagnosis to her death in a hospice residence). It was very difficult to write but it helped me to heal in so many ways and I hope and pray it helped others who might be going through it also. I was on Facebook at the time that I wrote it (I’ve since gotten off of FB) and had so many people tell me I should write a book about this journey. I’ve often thought about it.

    Great list Trisha!!

    • I need to check out your blog series. It sounds like it would be terribly difficult to write, but an excellent step in the healing process and I am sure it has helped somebody else. That kind of writing and information is what I feel seems to be lacking. The real stuff that touches real people.

      • I can’t say enough nice things about people who work in the oncology field and I have such a fierce respect for them and those who work in hospice care. It is not easy work I know. I have said many times that I would not have survived without the wonderful people we had in hospice. Here is part one of my ten part series so you don’t have to go hunting for it. 🙂

        http://nightowlgail.wordpress.com/2010/12/14/a-daughters-journey-through-cancer-part-1/

        I also got THE NICEST letter ever from my mom’s oncologist after she died. He is well-respected in the oncology field and an EXTREMELY busy man, so I appreciated so much the fact that he took the time to write such a personal letter to me. That meant more to me than you will ever know and helped me in my healing.

      • Awesome! Thanks for giving me the link.
        Also, that is amazing that your mom’s oncologist wrote you a letter. That is such a nice and thoughtful gesture. There are so many good people out there. 🙂

      • It was very kind of him. It especially meant a lot because he made it very personal in regards to my mom’s cancer, her condition, and her as a person. In other words…. it was plain to see it was not just some sort of standard sympathy card they send out when a patient dies (which would have still been nice– but this was even nicer and more meaningful).

  3. I agree with ALL of these! Some of the ones you mentioned but I didn’t crossed my mind, especially the one about religious stereotypes, I just couldn’t think of the best way to phrase it, but you did it perfectly!

    I have a baby idea for a Les Mis retelling, but since I’ve only seen a couple movie versions of it, I don’t want to work on it until I’ve read the book and have a really good grasp on an idea.

    • Glad you agree with the list.
      I would very happily read your Les Mis retelling if you ever get the chance to nail it down and write it. I am excited that you have thought of it.

  4. So with you on #4!!! It’s like real marriage is seen as boring unless it’s in real trouble. We all have problems in marriage, but can’t we read about a realistic marriage that doesn’t involve it breaking up because of infidelity?!?…bet you can’t tell the love triangle is one of my pet peeves 🙂

  5. You have so many good ones!

    I think what a lot of people are saying is we want more realistic things. If we have a novel that is contemporary, make it something we can relate to. I definitely agree with number 10.

    • “If we have a novel that is contemporary, make it something we can relate to.” Those are the words I was looking for and couldn’t nail down what to say.

Please, share your thoughts!

