Twisted MixTape: Dance Music

This week’s Twisted MixTape (from Jen at My Skewed View) is a favourite dance club or club music mix in memory/celebration of the life of another blogger’s (Kir) brother who was a DJ and died last month.  He loved to dance and loved dance music. 

So sweet.

Now, I must confess, I have been to a bar/club where dance music and dancing were expected fewer times than I can count on one hand.  I hate loud music and being touched by people, so it really isn’t my scene.

That being said, I love dancing.  I can’t dance, but I do find it great fun, but I only really get to do it at weddings or other receptions where dancing is acceptable, in the car and in my living room.

Because I am sheltered from going to places where people go with intent to dance, I suspect that I don’t know actual-actual current dance music.   In fact, one of my favourite dance club experiences was when I went to an Indie Dance Night during my undergrad (hello, hipsters from before there were hipsters).  I know the greatness I heard there was not what was being played elsewhere. But that is part of the fun of this blog hop… I get to check out some new stuff. 

“Noma Numa” by Ozone.  I still dance to this song in the car (or at weddings), much like the guy who did this dance in front of his web cam for YouTube many years ago.  Nothing is more fun that moving like a fool and singing along to words you don’t actually understand.

“Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen.  Her songs are my one of my pop music guilty pleasures.

 “Close To Me” by The Cure.  One of my favourite bands and songs ever.  Combine big band instruments, the synthesized sound of the 80s and some good rhythm, you get great dancing fun.

“Barbie Girl” by Aqua.  This song became cool just before my first dance ever.  And thus it (and many other songs from the Aqua CD) remain on my list of awesome dancing songs.

“Nowhere With You” by Joel Plaskett.  A good Canadian boy singing a ridiculously upbeat song about going downtown.  That is pretty dance-ish.

 “I’m Gonna Be” by The Proclaimers.  Another one of my favourite bands ever.  This song is ridiculously catchy and is one of those songs everyone knows and sings along to.

What are some of your favourite dance/club songs?

4 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Dance Music

  1. BARBIE GIRL!
    I love that song, mostly because people in college used to circle around me and sing it to me, in the most loving way.

    these were great songs, a wonderful mix to get down to.
    thanks so much for sharing them with us. 🙂

  2. These are all perfect! Of course you know The Cure is awesome by my book. But believe it or not we get a lot of traction out of Call Me Maybe here too! We are equal opportunity dancers!
    Thank you so much for coming back! Love Noma Numa too…. remember the first time I saw that video, awesome.

Please, share your thoughts!

