Top Ten Settings I Would Never Want To Live In

There are a number of places I wouldn’t want to live in both real and imaginary.  Maybe I am choosy, but I am sure I’m not alone in that.  This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is all about the top ten settings I would never want to live in.

  1. Panem in The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins.  The inequality that is even more ridiculous than that we exist in today, the oppression and the clear cut divisions are enough to make me not want to live there.  If you add in the whole setting children against one another in a to the death game show, it is a definite bottom of the list living location.
  2. The “world” in Insurgent and Divergent by Veronica Roth.   I don’t like the whole faction thing.  I love categories and such, so I think I would have blended well, but as an outsider, I find the whole thing really disturbing.
  3. The room in Room by Emma Donoghue.  I can’t imagine what it is like to be abducted and kept prisoner/slave to someone, but I certainly know I never want to experience what they do in this book.
  4. The work camp in A Day In The Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn.  So much cold and such a harsh environment.  I remember feeling cold just reading about it.   I can’t imagine living it.
  5. The concentration camp in Sarah’s Key by Tatiana deRosnay.  I never want to live in or see anyone else  have to live in a concentration camp again, but the description of what these kids went through haunts me to this day.
  6. Forks from the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer.  Let’s face it, a town that has less sunlight than any of the very foggy cities I have lived combined with all of the vampires, werewolves and flighty (and annoying) teenage girls.  Sounds like a nightmare to me.
  7. The world in The Host by Stephanie Meyer.  Yes, I read this book.  And yes, it was terrible.  So was the world they lived in.  The alien infested humans were kind of boring (even if they could learn to love), the whole living in fear of getting busted for being human thing seemed frightening and living underground was overrated, in my opinion.
  8. Wuthering Heights from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.  What a mopey, bitter place to have to live.  Such a bitter, messed up bunch of people.   Yes, the two time usage of the word bitter was warranted.
  9. The New York city party circuit as portrayed in Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger.    I hate parties, clubs and groups of people.  I felt tired just reading the book (and yet I loved it).  I can’t imagine exisiting in a place where this is real work life.
  10. The alternate world in White and Green by Ted Dekker.  The same world in the first two books had its idyllic moments, but in the later two, there was a lot of war and badness going on.  I can’t imagine running away from people wanting to kill me every day, living in the dessert and such.

What world or place would you not want to live in?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Settings I Would Never Want To Live In

  1. We overlap in a few of our worlds. I didn’t think of Wuthering Heights, but I completely agree. Nothing in that book made me want to travel to that desolate landscape.

    • Hooray for overlap. I am glad I want to avoid the same places as others. Makes it seem more reasonable.
      Yes, Wuthering Heights is just miserable. I almost didn’t think of it either.

  2. Panem and the Divergent world are definitely two places I wouldn’t want to live in either! Also, Narnia before the White Witch was defeated. In addition to her being around, always winter and never Christmas?! No thanks! I can barely make it through 3-4 months of winter in Tennessee (which pales in comparison to winters in may other places, like Canada)!

    • Oh! I kept thinking Narnia, but then couldn’t figure out why that was popping into my head. It is most definitely the never ending winter piece. I would not want to do any more winter than we already do. In fact, I could do with a bit less.

Please, share your thoughts!

