Twisted MixTape: Songs To Make A Friend Feel Better

This week’s Twisted MixTape with Jen at My Skewed View is a mix of songs you would make to make a friend feel better.

I’m a fan because I’m a big believer in the healing properties of a good song.

My best friend, V, (who doesn’t generally read my blog as far as I know) has been having a terrible year complicated by terrible chronic pain from daily migraines she has had for years that have stopped her from working and getting out like she used to.  She was supposed to have an occipital nerve stimulator implanted with the hopes that it would help to decrease her headache severity last week.  Unfortunately, her surgery was cancelled and rescheduled after the OR before hers went too long.  Big suckage.

V is one of those people who when she laughs, everyone laughs because she just gets so into it.  She is also one of the people I spent the most time singing like fools with in the car through university.  We share the same twisted sense of humor and some of the same taste in music.  Thus, she would appreciate the mixtape.  I may just send it to her.

“Roses” by Outkast.  We were roommates at cadet camp (and clearly super cool) and this song was popular that particular summer.  The first time we listened to the words, we lost it.  How can you not?

“What Is This Feeling?” from Wicked the musical.  Nothing helps to clear out some bad feelings than belting a musical song about loathing in not-so-perfect harmony.

“Somebody That I Used To Know” by Gotye.  The instrumental introduction of this song reminds V of this time L, my Other Mother and I crept up to the front of the church to play the closing hymn only to realize that the Pastor was not praying and everyone was staring at us, including the Pastor who asked “Can I help you?”    L was mortified, but Other Mother and I, as well as most of the rest of the congregation found this hilarious.  Plus, it is a great song to sing, even though most people only know the chorus.

“Jesus In My Life” by Hillsong.  This is a gem.  A gosh awful gem.  Our church a few years back was maybe trying to be cool and had us do songs at the opening sessions with the kids from this DVD by the Hillsong group.   Lost of cheesiness, lots of Australian accents and some very frightening adults dressed like giant child dolls.  This particular song had a dance and a lot of rap all of which didn’t fully make sense in combination.  We, however, loved to pretend to be cool when we sang this song.  We may (code for can) sing the entire rap and shout out our own audience participation.

“Queen of the Night Aria” from Magic Flute written by Mozart.  V has a gift for singing this song.  In fact, she used to make us all crazy screeching this gem.  All in all, it has a happy feel… Even if I am not cultured enough to actually know the opera or the meaning behind the song.

And there you have my feel better mix for the lovely V.  I can’t fix your head, but I can at least make you laugh.

6 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Songs To Make A Friend Feel Better

  1. This is the perfect mixtape to make your friend V feel better! I hope she listened to it 🙂 Maybe you could make her a real one and send it to her. I bet she’d love it!

Please, share your thoughts!

