Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the folks over at the Broke and Bookish is a list of the top ten books that will make you cry.

Confession… I do cry a lot at books.

I cry at a lot of things.  It wasn’t always that way.  In fact, I was once stone cold (unless someone yelled at me).  But, somehow over the years, I have become soft.  Soft enough that I cry at movies and sometimes even commercials (like that Apple commercial over the holidays… ugh).

  1. Marley and Me by John Grogan.  Family stuff, the (spoiler alert) death of a dog and a miscarriage are all things that made me cry in this book.  I am more scared to read it now, as I think a lot of it would (frighteningly) hit closer to home now.
  2. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.  Never did a book make me laugh and cry this much, at times simultaneously.  I felt like I knew the characters and felt like I had an understanding of their pain and loss.
  3. Looking For Alaska by John Green.  Clearly John Green crushes my soul.  This book kind of took me by surprise.  I was reading all happy go lucky and then, whabam, I was crying my face off.  A bizarre experience, but a great read.
  4. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay.  This is by far the book that I cried the most reading… EVER.  And there was little happy reprieve.  I like its realism, but in all honesty, I didn’t it all that much.
  5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  I wept through the end of both the book and the movie.  Ugh.  Such a beautiful story with a strangely bittersweet end.  You know what will happen the whole time, but it still hurts when it actually happens.
  6. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  The Kite Runner had me too, but not like this one.  The story of the two women and how they intersect brought me to tears.
  7. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.  Really, the whole Hunger Games series had its moments for me.  Anything where kids and other innocent people die doing what they have to do is heartbreaking.  However, Mockingjay takes the cake because despite Katniss’s annoying inner dialogue, you really do see the hurt and the pull.  Spoiler alert: The deaths of certain people, namely Prim, Peeta being violent and not remembering, the whole “real or not real thing” all brought me to tears.
  8. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.  They were always together and eventually he is gone and they know it is coming.  Plus, the ending… Oh, the ending.
  9. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  When Patrick saw this was the topic this week he laughed and pointed out that people will have Nicholas Sparks books on their lists.  Here is my token Nicholas Sparks book… It always is because it is the only one that I really liked that I tried to read.  It hits too close to home for me with the dementia.  Too close.
  10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  I didn’t love the book, but I did cry a bunch reading it, namely at the end when things all come together.

What are the books that made you cry the most?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. I just finished The Fault in Our Stars last night. And yes, I cried. I loved the character of Isaac. The part where he and Augustus egged the ex-girlfriend’s car was priceless.

Please, share your thoughts!

