Twisted MixTape: Get Moving

Confession, I am still kind of liking running.

I know, I am not the first person to have found running.  And I am definitely not the best runner by any means.  I am slow and my endurance is limited to 5-8 minutes of running with 2-3 minute walks in between right now.  But that is better than my complete ineptitude when it came to running this summer.  I would probably have made more gains, but I do well to hit the gym 3 days per week and generally pull off 1-2 between work and other commitments like sleep taking up time.

But that being said, nothing makes going to the gym better and in particular, running better than good music.

This is true… Kind of. Other things can stop me. Like my iPod falling, me falling, horrendous nausea if I run after eating or the inability to breathe.

That and not hurting yourself.  I was running last night and knocked my phone off the treadmill ledge and it shot off the other side.  I got distracted by the projectile week of pay and lost my footing and sprained my ankle something fierce.  Today was spent hobbling up and down the hallways and limping up and down stairs.

Sometimes I think fitness is overrated.  I know it isn’t, but on days like this when I recuperate from my accident prone-ness, I do.

Back to the subject at hand.  This week’s Twisted MixTape with Jen from My Skewed View is called “Get Moving.”  Interestingly, the Child and I were discussing our gym playlists last week, so this is an easy one between my programmed iTunes list and previous conversation.

“Great DJ” by The Ting Tings.  The song makes little sense, but it is great to get moving to.

“Headphones” by Hedley.  My husband is a huge Hedley fan and thus we own most of their albums.  This is on their newest album and it is catchy, but I also quite like the lyrics.

 “Bad, Bad Leroy Brown” by Jim Croce.  This is an oldie but a goodie.  Something about singing about a possible brutish criminal that gets me moving.

“Dead Man (Carry Me)” by Jars of Clay.  This was one of the songs on my old school MP3 player Patrick and I could agree on, so it has all kinds of happy memories for me.  It also has a pace and a level of encouragement that keeps me moving.

“Titanium” by David Guetta and Sia.  I didn’t like this song when it first came out but somewhere between watching Pitch Perfect and getting back to the gym regularly, this has become one of my favourites.

What are some of your favourite get moving songs?

2 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Get Moving

  1. OK the first two, and last were knew to me, and I can totally see why you put them on here! I love this list, and I get you. I used to hate exercising so much, and if it weren’t for an exercise related injury that started as, what we thought was, a sprained ankle. I would still be going strong now. Take care of that ankle, make sure you’re good before you get back up. That thing supports your whole body, and you have no idea how much weight you can gain if you don’t use it anymore. Oh, wait, that was me.
    Meanwhile…thanks for the intro to these songs, I have to listen more closely and see, maybe… they can go on my walking list!

    • I took good care of it. I was for two runs so far and it was a bit stiff afterwards, but otherwise good. I had a bad injury to that ankle when I was just a kid and was laid up for months, so I learned the hard way to take care of sprains too. Glad to hear you get to at least do walks. Much better than being stuck doing nothing. I hope you continue to recover well.
      Glad to have introduced you to some new songs. It is always fun to have new things on the playlist.

Please, share your thoughts!

