Twisted MixTape: A Hint Of “Romantic-ness”

As I alluded to in my Top Ten Tuesday post earlier this week, I am kind of anti-Valentine’s and the like.
That being said, I love music and I do love me a good love song.  In fact, I think love songs move me more than most other things.  I often will reference songs to explain feelings or memories.
Funny how that works.

This week’s Twisted MixTape with Jen at My Skewed View is a mix of love songs.  I can do that. Actually, the more difficult part will be just picking five songs (and not making myself queasy looking at the lyrics closely).  At that, I will even dedicate the list to my lovely spouse Patrick who will be so impressed at my “romantic-ness” in doing so.  Plus, it will help me narrow things down a bit if I pick songs he will get.

“Must Have Done Something Right” by Relient K.  This was “our song” and we walked back up the aisle to it after our wedding.  Patrick likes to sing it and improvise his own instrumental background.

“Your Song” by Kate Walsh.  Embarrassing fact… When Patrick and I were in the midst of one of our many long-distance stints, we used to sometimes send each other song lyrics.  I sent this one to him one time.  I still quite like it because I feel like it is less common to hear a good romantic sort of love song from a woman.

“I See the Light” as sung by Mandy Moore & Zachary Levi in Tangled.  Patrick is a big Zachary Levi fan and a big Disney movie lover.  As a result, we went to see Tangled and both quite liked it, especially this song.

“Time In A Bottle” by Jim Croce covered by The Muppets. Who doesn’t love a good Muppet cover?  Plus, although kind of sad, this song is also pretty deep.

“Ours” by Taylor Swift.  This song and the music video is just plain adorable to me.  I can’t explain it.  But, I get the overarching sentiment of the song being people that got married “young” (even though we aren’t young any more).http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEurlJ9lbTM

I could go on and on, but alas, mixed tapes have limited time durations.  What are some of your love songs of choice?
4 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: A Hint Of “Romantic-ness”

  1. I do like “Must Have Done Something Right.” How fun you used it for your wedding! And Tangled! I love that movie! I actually made a Valentine’s playlist on the fly today while at work. I included Goo Goo Dolls’ “Let Love In,” David Archuletta’s “Crush” (lol… it’s too fun not to include!), “Stand By Me” as performed by Phillip Phillips on American Idol, Coldplay’s “The Scientist,” and more…

Please, share your thoughts!

