Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

This week’s photo challenge with the Daily Post is called “Treasure.”

My treasure is actually the blanket in the backdrop of this picture.  In fact, it has become a part of the backdrop of a bunch of pictures taken in our living room for the last almost 5 years.IMG_0590

Patrick’s Grandmother and I first bonded over two things (other than the love of her grandson).  Music, then knitting.  I think we would have been great friends if we were from the same era.  Either way, we got along famously.

She decided that for our wedding, she would knit us a blanket.  It would be in our wedding colours.  So, she did.  Now, the catch is that she, by the time of our wedding wasn’t very mobile, but she wanted to surprise me moreso than Patrick with the blanket, so if I came over, she would make him or anyone else nearby hide it, so I wouldn’t ask about her latest project.  I remember how excited I was when she gave it to us.

Since that time, it has set up home on the back of our couch.  It keeps us warm on colder nights, it protects the couch from Jeter fur when he sits beside us.

She died before we were married a year, but her memory lives on.  Our plan is to use this blanket to cover up our first baby when we take him or her home from the hospital, so it is kind of like she is there too.

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge; Treasure | NOE Style

  2. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge – Treasure – Home Town |

  3. Pingback: The very heart of me | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: The very heart of me | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure | Say It With A Camera

  6. This is such a beautiful story. I have a similar treasure. My grandmother knitted each of her five grandchildren a beautiful childhood afghan (the four granddaughters have matching ones). Then as we grew up she started knitting us beautiful “grown up” versions. Sadly she passed away the morning I started medical school. That childhood afghan has been (almost) everywhere I have and still keeps me warm at night some 25+ years later.

    • That is adorable. I think it is wonderful you still have the afghan your grandmother made you. Also, so sad that she passed away your first day of med school. What a beautiful way to always have her with you, though.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: TREASURE | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  8. Pingback: Love is in the air! | Words 'n Pics…

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Treasure | Joe's Musings

Please, share your thoughts!

