Twisted MixTape: Adequately Covered

This week’s Twisted MixTape with Jen over at My Skewed View is a freebie.

Oh boy, the power to choose… After much contemplations, I am choosing a mix of some awesome covers.  They say imitation is the biggest form of flattery.  Sometimes, I might even say, imitation is an improvement on the original.  Sometimes, but not always.

“Don’t Stop Believin” by the Glee cast.  Our med school choir sang this song in the style of the Glee cast and it was super fun to perform.  It is, to me, just as good as the original, which is pretty awesome given the original is the ring tone on my phone.

“I’m Gonna Be (500 miles)” by Sleeping At Last.  I have professed my love of The Proclaimers repeatedly, but I think this cover gives the original justice and yet takes a whole new spin on it.  And a hugely different spin, at that.  I feel like the sound of this is more melancholy and love song-ish than the original.

“The Time (Dirty Bit)” by the Black Eyed Peas.  Guilty pleasure confession… I love the movie Dirty Dancing (even though I only first saw it at age 25) and rocked the soundtrack most of my childhood.  I also like dancing like a fool to the Black Eyed Peas.  This song is like a terrible combination of the two.

“I Want You Back” by the Civil Wars.  Until Patrick pointed it out and I listened to the lyrics, I had no idea this was a cover of the Jackson Five song.  No idea.  Again, this is more melodic and melancholy, but it has a certain beauty to it I quite enjoy.

“What a Wonderful World” by Joey Ramone.  I think I first heard this cover on an episode of Gilmore Girls.  I quite like Louis Armstrong, but this version is for some odd reason my preferred rendition.

What covers do you love?

Please, share your thoughts!

