Twisted MixTape: Guilty Pleasures… I have far too many.

I have a pretty mixed bag of music on my iTunes (and a more limited mixed bag on my phone because I am having terrible problems syncing properly without randomly losing songs).  Some of that music I am pretty proud to share with everyone.  But, a good chunk of it is kind of embarrassing for me to have at least certain people hear.

My Skewed View

This week’s Twisted MixTape with Jen over at My Skewed View is all about our guilty pleasures – songs or bands you hate to admit you love.  I am all over that (especially because I need something a bit lighter right now).

“Sold” by John Michael Montgomery.  I have a thing for country music.  Particularly that of the 90s that I grew up on.  This song was, for some odd reason on the only modern computer in my elementary school (with Windows 95!) that happened to reside in my grade 5 classroom for the last half of the year.  We listened to it a lot.  I know all the words.

“Complicated” by Avril Lavigne.  Yes, Avril Lavigne.  Now married to the frontman of Nickleback.  Ah, Canadian embarrassment at its finest.  I really liked this song and, heck, the entire CD when it came out (I was 16, in my defense).  It still brings me back.

“Starships” by Nicki Minaj.  She kind of annoys me, but this song really pumps me up, so it exists on my running playlist and I run to it enough that it makes my 50 most played list right now.  Plus, it brings back memories of my med school graduation reception (classy bunch, we are) and rocking out with my niece and nephew (and changing the volume because I though that we had the unedited version and I didn’t want to give them back to their parents singing the actual words).

“Lucky” by Britney Spears.  Ah, the ex-Disney people.  I have many songs by ex-Disney stars than I really should as an adult.  This was one of my favourites as an emo teen.  I now crack this number out in the car and do actions while Patrick drives.  Such a sad song, but such terrible writing just brings sheer hilarity.

“Rama Lama Ding Dong” by The Edsels.  I LOVE this song.  I sing both the bass and the falsetto, sometimes in the same line.  Sure, it is old and sure, it is cheesy, but I just can’t get enough.

I am sure if you looked at my music collection you would agree this only scratches the surface of the awfulness and awesomeness that comes from the most embarrassing corners of my music collection.  It makes me happy, though (well, some of it is there because it makes Patrick happy too).

What are some songs or singers you like and don’t really like to admit it?

4 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Guilty Pleasures… I have far too many.

  1. Ok, Rama Lama Ding Dong is just an awesome song, and anyone who hears that on your iPod should feel lucky. The others I totally understand. I can’t do Country, and I agree about Nicki Minaj pretty much any day! Love that you shared these! Thank you!

    • That is what I say about Rama Lama Ding Dong too, although I have had some bizarre responses to overhearing it before.
      A lot of people can’t do Country, but I can do it happily, probably because I grew up on the stuff.

  2. I appreciate and respect a woman who embraces her guilty pleasures, even if Britney is one of them! But you read my list, so clearly I am not one to judge!

Please, share your thoughts!

