Twisted MixTape: Snippets From My Life’s Soundtrack

This week’s Twisted MixTape is one that has me a bit excited and yet a bit boggled.  The mix is supposed to be the soundtrack to my life, but this brings me to ask the question does it mean the soundtrack as in the songs that best describe my life, the soundtrack as in the songs I would expect to hear played in the background if my life were a movie or the soundtrack as in the songs that were actually being played with a certain memory?

I settled on a kind of dual option being the last two choices.

My Skewed View

I remember many things based on songs (I am pretty sure I have written on that previously).  I can recall what song was playing with a certain memory or what song goes with a certain event.  So, that is what I will go with.  A few key life events and the songs that go with them in chronological order.  I will try not to repeat from previous posts where I have kind of done that before.

When I was a little kid, I had an obsession with the Dirty Dancing soundtrack (and yet I only saw the movie for the first time in my mid-twenties).  I used to insist on my parents playing it over and over again in the car.  We went for a lot of drives, so that was a lot of that cassette.  This song reminds me of riding in the car seat and eating ice cream with the cone separate (because I liked ice cream in a bowl but wanted the cone too).  The song is “Love Is Strange” by Mickey & Sylvia.

In junior high, I went through a super teen angsty phase where I listened to a lot of music that was pretty depressing and yet also rocked the whole boy band era too. I had a friend who had a less than healthy obsession with Our Lady Peace, so much of their late 90s music is the soundtrack to some of my summer memories going swimming at a lake by her house and playing N64.  Thus brings us to the next song, “Naveed” by Our Lady Peace.

I spent the summers of my high school years either attending or teaching at cadet band camp.  Yes, this is solid evidence of my coolness at this era.  While at band camp, we had one officer who introduced us to the Arrogant Worms.  Our camp was located on a base in a farming area where we would often start parades in farmers’ fieldsWe learned the words to this song and would sing it everywhere, including as a group on stage at a concert at a theme park.  Given the farming, the song is, of course “I Am Cow” by the Arrogant Worms.

When I was doing Nuclear Medicine, we were a tight knit gang of odd balls who did everything together whether it be a field trip to Taco Bell, a game of catch in the community college or hospital parking lot or a road trip to a conference.  That also meant we listened to a lot of music.  A couple of us were big music geeks and would bring in or create mixes or pick CDs for certain trips.  One of our consistent obsessions was Ben Harper because one of the guys ordered the album in early and we literally had it the day it was released.  The most played song (either during lunch or one of our many random adventures) was one that was both musically interesting and hilarious lyric-wise “Please Don’t Talk About Murder While I’m Eating.”  My main memory of this song involves throwing our class balls (because every class of 6 adults needs multiple balls to play with) at the wall of the office next door to our classroom to avenge the secretary’s loud personal conversation that went down during our exam earlier that morning.

One of my friends in med school was obessessed with Coldplay.  Obsessed.  As a result, almost always when you were in the car with her, that is who we would listen to.  We studied together, lived a few blocks apart and carpooled to school where possible and did some electives in Med 4 in the same city around the time Mylo Xyloto was released and that was almost all we listened to.  In fact, we once drove four hours and only listened to Coldplay.  We also went to see Coldplay live in Italy together.  Whenever I hear “Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall” by Coldplay, I think of driving in her very small car with no air conditioning down the highway with the windows down and singing this song at the top of our lungs to clear out the stress of CaRMS applications.

What are some songs from your life soundtrack? 

4 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Snippets From My Life’s Soundtrack

  1. OK this is awesome. I think one of my favorites from you. I feel like I’ve said that before. Well this one is too.
    First of all Love is Strange is a song I have ALWAYS loved that song. Have you ever heard the version by Everything But the Girl? YouTube it, it’s awesome.
    Also… Never heard Arrogant Worms, I am all over it now.
    And huge Ben Harper fan! That was a blast from the past for me and now I have to play it every night when my husband wants to talk news when I’m eating!

    This was awesome!

    • Glad you liked it!
      I hadn’t heard the version by Everything But the Girl until about 30 seconds ago when I checked it out and it is really good!
      Happy you now know the Arrogant Worms. They have some pretty hilarious songs.

    • I sure did! We were traveling to Europe to celebrate my med school grad and discovered Coldplay was going to be there at the same time, so we went to one of the “smaller places” they were playing (Torino, Italy) and got to see them. It was probably one of the most awesome things we’ve ever done!

Please, share your thoughts!

