Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List

Spring officially starts later this week.  That means it is time for yet another Spring To Be Read List for Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish.

I am proud to say that I did actually read 5 of the books on my Winter TBR list.  Comparing back to last year’s Spring list, I only read 3 of those.  I am sticking with making my list of books that I will probably have access to but also dedicating a portion to books I just really, really want to read.

  1. Red Rising by Pierce Brown.  This is a loaner from the Child (did I mention I love that she works at a book store?) and I am starting it any time I get a chance this week.  It is my book that is being carried around with me right now.  I wouldn’t necessarily be drawn to it on my own, but given the fact that I am quite liking dystopian books and that it is free and theoretically good, I am excited to read it.
  2. This Is Your Brain On Music by Daniel Levitin.  This was on my TBR list last Spring and I still haven’t read it, which is pretty sad.  I got excited about music again while we were in New York, which reminds me that I should start playing and reading music related books again.
  3. Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  This was also on last Spring’s TBR list and again, after seeing Wicked, I remember that I liked the book the first time and want to read the rest of the series, but want to start from the beginning if I am to do that.
  4. Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson.  This is a Patrick find that is sitting on our shelf.  Since it is there and Patrick seemed to like it, I do want to read it.
  5. World War Z by Max Brooks.  I didn’t see the movie, although I do know some quotable moments.  That being said, I am intrigued with the book and want to read it just to try something a bit different.  Who says I can’t read a book about zombies?
  6. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell.  I keep hearing rave reviews, but I still have yet to read her books.  I do love some YA to keep things light.
  7. End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe.  This book is about things near and dear to my heart… Books, relationships, cancer.
  8. A Train In Winter by Caroline Moorehead.  I love nonfiction and this story of women of the French Resistance during World War II sounds intriguing to me.
  9. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.  I love the awkward and the science nerd behind the story line.
  10. Doppler by Erlend Loe.  “The very unusual story of one man and his moose.”  I feel like that says it all.  But seriously, I found this on one of the tables in Chapters with Patrick and picked it up because of the cover but want to read it because of that line.

 

What is on your Spring TBR list?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List

  1. I have actually read a book on your list, and have another on the kobo waiting for me! I’m growing up! Lol!

    • Reading is an important part of my sanity in the midst of medical training.
      I was surprised to find out “Wicked” is a part of a series of books, although I think it can stand alone pretty well. There are 3 or 4 books in the series.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Summer 2014 TBR List | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

