Bookish Bucket List

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is a fun one. At least it is to me. A bookish bucket list! I love books.  I have a strange fascination with bucket lists. Win.

  1. Read all the classics. Okay, I admit this is lofty, but I mean the big classics that are always on the 100 books everybody should read lists.  I’ve only read 23 of the books on the Amazon.com list, for instance.  And that really isn’t stocked with classic-classics, so I don’t know if I count that.  When I think classics, I think books that are 50 years old or older (even though that keeps growing).
  2. Have a library. One day, when we have a house and I’m a real doctor and all that good stuff, I want to have a room full of books. Preferably with cool shelves and a nice reading nook.  That way we and our kids and friends can have a stash of good books and a comfy space to read them in.
  3. Get published. I mean professionally. Finally publish the results of some of my research or a good review article.
  4. Write a book. Not necessarily in my profession. I love to write. That is kind of why I blog. I am not sure what I would write, but maybe a fictional book based on something I know.  This is most likely a literal bucket list item because by the time I have the time to dedicate to it, I probably will actually be trying to fit in those last few bucket list items.
  5. Actually complete my Goodreads challenge to read 67 books this year.  I know it doesn’t sound like a ton of books, but when you work 80 hours per week and have a life, it becomes a lot.
  6. Be a part of a book club. A real book club that discusses books. They fascinate me.
  7. Have our children be as bookish as we are. I know I can’t make my kids be or do anything. That being said, I hope we brainwash them into being big book geeks just like us.
  8. Try reading a book from every genre. There are certain genres I just want to avoid, period.  But, that being said, there are plenty of genres I don’t generally read because I just haven’t pushed myself or stepped out into them.  I want to read those.
  9. Actually read War And Peace in entirety.  I did start reading it years ago.  The peace part was okay, but war kind of sucked (in my opinion. It is one of the few books I didn’t stick with.  One day, I will read the whole thing if for nothing else, but to say I did.
  10. Visit a big library, unique bookstore or university wherever I travel.  I have been doing this just because of my fascination with such places. I want to keep it up.

What are some of your bookish bucket list items?

4 thoughts on “Bookish Bucket List

  1. I like the idea of having a library! I also like you visit unique libraries and bookstores when you visit places!The one time I did that was when I went to Malaprop’s in Asheville, North Carolina, a popular indie bookstore there. Even though I didn’t buy anything it was fun walk through and see the layout of the store.

Please, share your thoughts!

