Gateway Books

It is Top Ten Tuesday day with the folks over at the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is gateway books. The books that really started us on being book lovers or in to certain genres. That sort of thing. Kind of like the overly sweetened French vanilla cappuccinos at Tim Horton’s were my gateway drug to my coffee addiction.

The original gateway:

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. That is right, boys and girls. My love of reading started young. As in my shelves were full and my mother made a lot of trips to the library even before I could read. This is one of the first library books I remember, although I am sure there are more.

Gateway to reading on my own:

Mud Puddle by Robert Munsch. Okay, all of his books could fall into this category. My kindergarten classroom was stocked with a number of Robert Munsch books and included books on tape (cassette, of course) for our follow-along pleasure. This was my intro to independent and awesome reading.

Gateway series:

The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keane. I think my Mom pointed me to these as books she read as a kid. I loved them. I think I read the entire original series withing a year or two. The worst part was when the library wouldn’t have some of the books and I would have to wait for them to be sent in.

Gateway to history:

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. I read this too young, but it was very worth it. I think it opened my eyes to the realities of the world and how history really played out.

Gateway to oncology:

Six Months To Live by Lurlene McDaniel. I am aware that this probably makes me an odd kid, but I read this and many of McDaniel’s other books and learned a lot about illness and its impact on people from the perspective of teens as a result.

Gateway to teens (and adulthood):

Forever by Judy Blume. I would like to thank my local public library for having the “young adult and teen” section basically in the kids section and have it have more books that I hadn’t read by the time I hit 11 or 12. So, I had liked Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret and Deenie, thus a natural progression would be this book. I learned things. Oh, I learned things the medical book didn’t teach me.

Gateway to the classics:

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I read this the summer between grade 11 and 12 after my high school did the musical and loved it. I keep saying I will re-read it, but haven’t. Reading this book made me realize that classics are awesome, especially when not read for English class.

Gateway to reading books that everybody else seems to be reading:

The Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling. I think I started reading these in university. Before this point, I didn’t really know or care what everyone else was reading. I just went to the library and got books. Then, I realized that maybe listening to some of the hype isn’t half bad because some good does indeed come of it.

Gateway to dystopian novels:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Cliché, but true. I bought the books because they came in a nice boxed set and we had a gift card and everyone was raving about them. I wasn’t disappointed.

Gateway to non-fiction:

The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee. I read nonfiction before this book, but this is the one that really made me want to read more non-fiction for both entertainment and learning, not just learning.

What are your gateway books?

4 thoughts on “Gateway Books

  1. Yes, The Emperor of All Maladies was definitely one of my favourite non-fiction books too! I haven’t read Forever by Judy Blume – in fact, I only learned that it existed a few years ago!

    • “Forever” is a really good book. It presents relationships and the issues that come with them for teens quite well much like many of Judy Blume’s other books.

Please, share your thoughts!

