Playoffs versus Sleep

Few things can make me stay up past my bed time.

Let me list a few:

  1. Call.
  2. Caring for a very sick relative or friend.
  3. Seeing a very special relative or friend for the first time in a while.
  4. A playoff hockey game.

It is the playoffs.  And my team… The Montreal Canadiens are still in it.  As a result, every Montreal game means that it is hockey night in the M household (during the regular season, I generally only stay up for whole games on the weekends).  That means I have to stay up late every other night for the last almost week.  It also means that I eat more junk food (not good given I can’t run).

Image from the Montreal Gazette.

Yes, I have to.  It is not an option.

Tonight, we cleaned the house.  I did an assignment for my Molecular Genetics rotation and worked a wee bit on my manuscript (almost done the submission for research day).  We are now watching the hockey game and it is around that time I would normally be hitting the hay.

I’ll be sleepy in the morning (and I have to leave extra early because my half crutch/half walk thing I have going on means it takes me about triple the time to get to the bus stop).

And yet, I don’t want this to end.  I will deal with the sleep deprivation of a good long playoff run (I would like to thank residency for training me for this kind of thing).  Preferably Stanley Cup kind of long.

I am a hockey fan.  What can I say?

 

2 thoughts on “Playoffs versus Sleep

Please, share your thoughts!

