Top Ten Books About Friendship

I am blessed to have some amazing friends. The kind that embrace my crazy and I embrace theirs. The kind you call first with really good news and really bad, the kind who co-exist and keep in touch despite distance and years of schooling and the kind who sit through funeral visitations, wedding parties and everything in between just to be there for one another. They are basically family to me.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the folks over at the Broke and the Bookish is my top ten books about friendship.

  1. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares. Maybe it seems cliché that I included this, but it was the first book that popped into my head. Both the books and the movies were awesome (come on third Sisterhood movie). I loved them because they kind of reminded me of some of my closest friendships (and still do). I like it when people stick together and make eachother better despite their differences.
  2. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. Anne and Diana and even Gilbert are just plain adorable in their adventures and really, it is nice to see them grow together throughout the series.
  3. Paper Towns by John Green. Best road trip ever. There are a couple awesome friendships in here. Q and Margo are kind of bizarre, but they work. The ones I really like are Q, Ben and Radar are the kind of randomness and friends that make life better. You need good friends if you are going to go on a wild goose hunt. **Also, as a disclaimer, I could include every single John Green book in this list, but then I would be down many slots in the list.**
  4. Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson. Jude and Teddy are pretty messed up kids. Okay, the whole book is laced with drugs, sex and the 1980s punk scene and yet it is one of those epics you can’t help but follow because it feels like you are on a journey with them. I like that Jude and Teddy grew up together, were best friends despite how messed up they were and how Jude continued to be Teddy’s person long after Teddy was no longer around.
  5. A Streeet Cat Named Bob by James Bowen. Who says furry friends can’t be friends too?
  6. The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein. Yet another furry friend. The thing I love most about this one is that it is from the perspective of the dog, so it is like you know the dedication and love he feels for his family.
  7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Liesel and Rudy. Liesel and Max. The Hubermanns. Lots of unique and good friendships in this one with many life lessons all built in.
  8. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Ender had a pretty good crew in his real command school friends. Especially Alai (even if they have a falling out later in the book, they still work well together, so I like to think they were still kind of friends). And of course Ender’s sister Valentine was a great friend to him.  Where this is a book about war training, it is also a good example of how to be a crummy friend by times, as well.
  9. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Minny and Aibleen were friends that stuck together despite personality differences and difficult circumstances. I really like how they developed in this story.
  10. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. I can’t help but include it. The whole thing is based solidly around a core group of friends.

I also couldn’t get out of my head this one book about poor friendship…

  • Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult. Here is one for the TERRIBLE friend category. Sueing your obstetrician best friend because your kid was born with osteogenesis imperfecta and you believe she could have done a prenatal diagnosis and you could have aborted the kid. Although I get the money would be helpful, is all that worth your friendship or what you will say to your kid when it is said and done. Ugh. This one gave me rage.

What are your favourite friendship books?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Books About Friendship

  1. I also love The Sisterhood, when I left for medical school one of my besties bought me a pair of jeans so I would have my own “travelling pants”.

    Other favourite books about friendship – Summer Sisters by Judy Blume and Unsaid by Neil Abramson (a furry friend book)

    • That is adorable. I wish I had travelling pants.
      Summer Sisters is good. I read it a long time ago, but I remember liking it. I’ll have to check out Unsaid.

  2. I have a few books about friendship that are true stories (memoir) that I really enjoy.
    “Truth and Beauty” by Ann Patchett and “Let’s take the long way home: a memoir of friendship” by Gail Caldwell.

    You get to see how people who are often very different can be fiercely loyal, there for each other and accepting.

    • Memoirs are great. I have a strange fascination with reading about other people’s lives (probably why I like blogs). I will need to add these to the million books I need to look in to. 🙂

  3. Yea… The Help was so good. Minny and Abigail was the perfect sassy best friends. I loved them. Minny was just the right amount of crazy, while Abigail kind of kept her in check. 🙂

    The Sisterhood makes 100% sense to include. I’ve only seen the movie though, I think I’m going to have to check out the books.

    • Minny was the right amount of crazy! They remind me of people I know, although I can’t put my finger on who.
      The movie actually does the books justice (leaving out and altering a few details, of course).

Please, share your thoughts!

