How Did That Happen? New Series

Recently, my blog keeps getting visits via search engines to get to this post… “Things I Wish I Had Known Starting Residency.” It is exciting to see people landing here not reading about whether Grey’s Anatomy is a real portrayal of life on a General Surgery rotation (Spoiler alert… It is not.).

It makes me realize July is coming and soon enough I will be on-service learning what I actually want to do for the rest of my life (and done two years of residency).  MIND BLOWN!

I don’t claim to be a leading expert in things. Well, I am an expert in what I wish I had known and I am at least kind of aware of what happened to me (some days more than others), but it is tough to predict what others want to know. But, I am happy to help (or send people running).

It has motivated me to do a series, which is pretty exciting to me because I have never really been motivated to do anything beyond a post mentioning that I will continue to talk about the same subject another day or blog hops.

I call the series “How Did That Happen?”  Oh, and I am super proud of the graphic I created for it (I only wasted an hour figuring it out.)

stethoscopes1

The series in question is a sort of how-to guide/list for some common questions or issues that I or others have had about med school and residency and a mix between legitimate advice, the obvious and the sarcastic.

Obviously, they will have a certain angle about them. I mean, I can only write from my experience and the experience of some lovely friends from whom I mooch acquire knowledge. I am Canadian, so clearly that may influence some things. I am a girl and in the world of medicine, sometimes that still matters. Oh, and I am in Rad Onc (just one of the smallest programs ever).

Again, I am not an expert. This is not life advice or medical advice. Really, it is a different approach to writing about some of the randomness of med school/resident life in list form and sometimes make it legitimately useful.

This is an experiment. So, once a week, you’ll find one, maybe two. Until I stop for one reason or another..

If there is something you want a how-to about from anything from how to be a good resident to how to not get gastro on your first call shift, let me know. Suggestions are welcome.

14 thoughts on “How Did That Happen? New Series

  1. Pingback: How Did That Happen: How to try to be a good resident | At least we made it this far...

  2. Pingback: At least we made it this far...

  3. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How to survive rotations you hate | At least we made it this far...

  4. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: Human | At least we made it this far...

  5. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How To Get Ready For The First Day of Residency | At least we made it this far...

  6. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How to schedule in order to optimize both life and learning | At least we made it this far...

  7. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How to overwhelm the pulp out of a new resident | At least we made it this far...

  8. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How I Survive Breaking Bad News | At least we made it this far...

  9. Pingback: How Did That Happen: How I Got Through Med School Orientation | At least we made it this far...

  10. Pingback: How Did That Happen?: How Did My Job Eat My Life? And How Do I Make It Stop? | At least we made it this far...

Please, share your thoughts!

