Top Ten Beach Bag Books

I LOVE going to the beach. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is therefore right up my alley (in fact, I have done a similar list in the past listing beach readsTwice). The topic is the top ten books that will be in my beach bag this summer or that should be in your beach bag.   I’m splitting the list.

Books that will be in my beach bag:

  1. Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham. I am currently carrying this around with intent to read it. Since it is nice enough to read outside these days, I hope to maybe scheme at least a quick walk/visit (obviously without swimming… still too cold) this weekend where I will likely read this book.
  2. Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult. Her books often give me rage, but I find them easy reads, even if they follow a certain pattern. I always like books that look at the ethics of medicine and our existence from a human perspective (as opposed to the theoretical… Snore).
  3. Where We Belong or One and Only by Emily Giffin. I need to borrow both of these from the Child. The books are so light and fluffy, they make for excellent beach reads, but they are interesting enough I don’t just space out.
  4. World War Z by Max Brooks. I didn’t watch the movie and I don’t normally have interest in zombies, but I have heard the book is decent and broken up into shorter chunks of intersecting story. Thus, it would be good for beach/travel reading.
  5. The Little Old Lady Who Broke All The Rules by Catharina Ingleman-Sundberg. I saw this at a book store and it looks awesome. I quite like nursing home adventures.

Books that should be in your beach bag:

  1. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. I read this book over my Christmas vacation and it was awesome. It is light and easy to read, but interesting. I’ve already seen it on a few lists, so it looks like it is shaping up to be a popular pick.
  2. Anything by John Green. The books are funny and often feel like a journey. Plus, they aren’t tough reads. I will forewarn, that they can be emotional, though.
  3. The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. This books is funny and is another one that makes you feel as if you are going on a journey with the characters. I have already mentioned my love of the elderly in a previous pick, but I will say again, I love stories about old people!
  4. The Truth About Luck by Iain Reid.A book about an unusual summer vacation turned staycation spent with the author’s grandmother.
  5. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simison.I just finished this book last week and it was excellent. Funny, clever and had good flow.

What are some of your beach bag reads?

One thought on “Top Ten Beach Bag Books

Please, share your thoughts!

