Top Ten Books I Read Thus Far In 2014

It is halfway through 2014.

Mind blown.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is the top ten books I have read so far this year (in no particular order).

Looking For Alaska by John Green. I have a strange fascination with private schools, so this book was right up my alley. Plus, John Green is awesome with incorporating hilarity with some serious themes and this book wasa good example of that.

Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson.I have praised this book a few times on here. I love that it felt like it was a real journey and that I grew very attached to the characters.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown. The start of what is shaping up to be a great series. It is yet another YA novel where kids are off trying to kill eachother and yet it is fascinating. It makes you think a lot about social classes and slavery and such.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simison.This is another one that I have talked about a few times on here. Such a funny book and a light read.

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafazi. I love nonfiction and it was very interesting to learn about her, her culture and the state of education in another country.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. The coolest part of this book for me was that it is partially set in New York and I read it while in New York. But also, I enjoyed that it was, well, about a bookstore and quirky characters.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth.Although it surprised me in some ways, I was very pleased with how the book wrapped up the series.

This Momentary Marriage by John Piper.I found this fascinating in both theoretical and practical ways.

Emma by Jane Austen.I found this a really tough and slow read, but despite that, I did like the book.

Crazy Busy by Kevin DeYoung.I got this book because busynesss is a big issue of mine and I wanted to do more practical, Christian reading this year.   It was very practical. I need to read it again.

What are your top ten books so far this year?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read Thus Far In 2014

  1. Darkness at Noon, Arthur Koestler. A dark and deep story of a confined man.
    Amusing Ourselves to Death, Neil Postman. A pre-internet, prophetic book, ipse dixit.
    Failed States Noam Chomsky What governments do, and don’t do, and why.

  2. Nice list! I’ve heard great things about The Rosie Project and I Am Malala. I have Crazy Busy on my Kindle, and I’ve been procrastinating about reading it. I’ll have to do that soon.

  3. Allegiant – is it better than Divergent? I’m gonna check “I am Maala.” Thanks for the list!

    • No, I thought Divergent was better… By far my favourite book in the series. Allegiant was an ending and a good one, but it wasn’t as good in my opinion.

  4. I’m glad you liked Allegiant! I’ve actually seen a few people mention it today, which surprised me because of all the backlash it got! Emma is one I’m hoping to read this year too, glad you enjoyed it despite the slowness (which I’ve learned just comes with the territory when it comes to Austen).

    • It did get a lot of backlash. When I first read it, I didn’t like how it ended, but I got over it a bit and in the end think it was good.
      The slowness is very much part of the Austen territory. It is good, though.

  5. A few favorites are Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bon, Blink, The Outliers, and The Book Thief. About to start Maze Runner or The Queen Tearling with some of my book club gals.

  6. We have the complete opposite opinion of Allegiant, haha. I actually had to skim the last however-many pages of the book after the, well, you know.. spoiler alert. I haaaaated it.

    • Ha ha. When I first read it, I kept reading because I just couldn’t believe it. I was angry and didn’t like it. But, my husband liked it and when we discussed it, he changed my mind. I mean, it is more realistic. **SPOILER ALERT** The kid was shot or wounded a million times, it is about time something caused her real harm, realistically speaking. But still. I get your point of view.

  7. 10! Before I became a single working mom, oh yes. But now? 🙂 Nope. I just finished The Buddha Walks Into a Bar and liked it. Happiness Project just ok. The Fault in Our Stars? Now that’s phenom.

    • Ha ha! I am enjoying all the books while I can before kids come along and take up my reading time (although I will be thrilled to have kids and less reading time). Agreed on both the Happiness Project and Fault in Our Stars!

Please, share your thoughts!

