Top Ten Books On My Summer 2014 TBR List

Summer is almost here. I finally have my call schedule for July and plans are shaping up for our adventures. That also means it is time for the summer to be read list post with the Broke and the Bookish.

I have read 3.5 of my Spring TBR list books. I looked back to last year’s Summer list and I read 8 of the books that Summer and 9 since I wrote the list. I count that as a win.

As a result, I am splitting the list. No lofty dreaming of 10 new books for me. 5 I have in my possession currently, 5 I will somehow acquire.

  1. Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult. I love the bargain piles at Chapters. This was one of those finds. It also helps that I do find her books easy reads that make me think.
  2. World War Z by Max Brooks. It was on my Spring list, but it is still sitting on my bedside table unread. I need to pick it up. Need.
  3. This Is Your Brain On Music by Daniel Levin.Another Spring list repeat. I will read it this time, promise.
  4. The Little Old Lady Who Broke All The Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg. I love old people and funny books. Plus, this is one of the books I bought with my birthday gift card from my parents (Thanks!).
  5. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I seem to read one of his books every summer lately. They are pretty heavy, but really well written. I am sure it will not disappoint. It is also one of my birthday books!
  6. Something else by Emily Giffin. She is kind of one of my summer reading go-tos. Light, easy reads.
  7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell. Yet another Spring TBR list repeat. I almost bought it last week, but I think I will try to borrow it from the library or something.
  8. Wicked and the rest of the series by Gregory Maguire. I know, another repeat. I really do want to refresh my memory and then find out what happens.
  9. The Maze Runner by James Dasher. I saw the preview to the movie when we went to see The Fault In Our Stars last week and it reminded me that I really wanted to read the book (especially before seeing the movie).
  10. The Giver by Lois Lowry. I have read other things she has written, but not this book. It is coming out as a movie too and I don’t like to see movies before I read the books. I’m not even sure if I want to see the movie, but it does make me remember that I need to read the book.

What is on your Summer to be read list?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books On My Summer 2014 TBR List

  1. Sounds like a great summer reading list! I’ve always wanted to read The Giver too.

    How did you like The Fault in Our Stars movie? The book club I was in is going to see it tomorrow. I don’t think I will be able to make it but hope to see it soon.

    • The movie was good. For a book turned movie, they really kept most of the essence of the book (though leaving out some details, some of which I felt were important to the realism of the story). I loved (and subsequently downloaded) the soundtrack and intend to go see it again with Patrick (I went with a friend) once report cards are done.

  2. I hope you enjoy The Giver! I read it for the first time a couple of years ago and thought it was great. The movie looks pretty bad though, or at least the first trailer looked bad. The second trailer would have looked fine if they hadn’t clearly changed so much of the story. 😦

  3. The Giver is a great book–just not uplifting. But makes you think, in a good way. I am reading Dani Shapiro’s Still Writing, which is good if you’re the writing type.

    • Your description makes “The Giver” seem right up my alley!
      I am the writing type, but I don’t love books about writing. Hope it was enjoyable!

  4. Oops–and then to jump into The Elegance of the Hedgehog, which has been around for awhile but I never got to it. Hearing that if you can get a couple chapters in, it’s a really good book!

Please, share your thoughts!

