Top Ten Favourite Classics

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish is a list of my top ten favourite classics. I do love the classics, so ths one is kind of tough for me (especially because I wasn’t sure what was a classic versus what wasn’t beyond the obvious).

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Who cannot love this book? It is such a good story and lesson.   Patrick hadn’t read it, so we bought a paperback version from the 1960s at a used book store last summer. I need to re-read it.
  2. Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery. This book is childhood to me. I have read it so many times and still love it.
  3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I only read this at some point during med school and really, I didn’t think I would like it. But, I loved it.
  4. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. This is a book I need to re-read. I LOVED it the first time and keep saying I am going to read it again, but never get around to it. Sure, it is a little long and at times, a little overzealous on the details, but it is a really cool story.
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis. So good. I love how they take you to another world that is timeless.
  6. The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss. When I was a kid I wanted to live on an island. So cool.
  7. Heidi by Johanna Spyri. This is another childhood favourite. It made me and still makes me want to one day visit the Alps.
  8. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain. Another from my childhood. We have a Mark Twain anthology floating around the house (somewhere on Patrick’s side of the bed) I need to crack out this summer finally.
  9. The Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I loved these stories as both a child and an adult. There is something about the family values and adventures of both the young and old in these books that stands the test of time.
  10. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. Although the cast of characters makes me want to poke all their eyes out or slap them to say “snap out of it,” it is a well written and interesting novel.

What are your favourite classics?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Classics

  1. I love 2,3,5 and 9 too! I love the Heidi story, but I’m not certain if I’ve read the book. (Movies only) Ya know what I find sad, is that some of the books written for children 100 yrs ago have to be condensed and paraphrased in order for kids nowadays to read them. The reading level is too high. I think the Little House series is an exception and not such a high reading level. But beloved Anne of Green Gables I could see too many modern kids finding the writing and vocab difficult. I get disturbed by the dumbed down versions of classics…

    While I’ve read Wuthering Heights, it would definitely not be in my favorites! I do love Jane Eyre by Charlote Bronte. I think Jane Eyre may be my #1.

    • I found movie versions of Heidi to often make her a bit grating at times (at least to me), but the book was well done.
      I find it so sad how some of the great books have been condensed. That being said, I do love when they make great books into books intended for small children. I hate the edited shrunken novel versions.

Please, share your thoughts!

