Top Ten Authors From Whom We Own The Most Books

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and Bookish asks the top ten authors from whom we own the most books. Confession… I kind of like this challenge because it is as simple as looking at our book shelves. I have also come to realize that we tend to only have a book or two by most authors. We are still library people or book borrowing people, so there aren’t as many books on our shelves as we read.

  1. John Green. He is an author both Patrick and I love. Funny, clever and easy to read, but with enough layers and depth that the books don’t get boring.
  2. Jodi Picoult. I know, many people feel her books follow a formula, and I totally agree. That being said, I like how they examine issues from various sides.
  3. C.S. Lewis. We have two anthologies. Not a lot of books in appearance, but a ton if you break them up into individually. I really like his writing, although I haven’t read very much that isn’t The Chronicles of Narnia yet.
  4. Khaled Hosseini. His books books are beautifully written and complex. I also love learning about another culture and country just from reading them.
  5. Ted Dekker. The Circle series is fantastic. The way two worlds are made to overlap and the symbolism blew my mind. We need to add more of his stuff to our shelves.
  6. Suzanne Collins. The entire Hunger Games series is it, but it is a good one.
  7. Stephen King. These are mostly Patrick’s but the one I read was amazing and I might just read one of the less scary other ones.
  8. Mitch Albom. I love his writing and it seems that everyone remembers that. To the point where I had doubles of two of his books at one time.
  9. Lurlene McDaniel. They are remnants of my childhood that I am re-reading on occasion, but the are present in multiples.
  10. Clive Cussler. Okay, none of these are mine. In fact, I haven’t read any of his books, but Patrick has a whole hoard of them.

What author’s books do you have a lot of on your shelves?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors From Whom We Own The Most Books

  1. I get a lot of books from the library, too. I realized when I was winnowing down my collection that some series are very unevenly represented because of that. I have read everything John Green, for example, but the only book I own is The Fault in Our Stars.

    But think of all the shelf space we save!

    • I’m glad I’m not alone in that.
      Not only do we save shelf space, but also money (although we joke my husband single handedly funded a library expansion with all his late book fines).

      • I hate having library books late, which results in me organizing–possibly over-organizing mine.

        I have a clip that holds the check-out slips, the oldest in front, a pen hooked nearby to check off books as they’re read. And separate piles for different due dates.

      • That is awesome!

        I hate having anything late and always keep the slip with the book I am currently reading.

        He, on the other hand has library books throughout the house all with different due dates and never a slip to be found.

  2. Just from reading your (and your husbands) book list I can tell I like you folks, and I just started reading your blog! Check out James Rollins for a good bit of history, science, and action (akin to Cussler).

    • Haha! Love it when you can tell that from a list of books! I will tell him to check out James Rollins. Maybe I will too. Thanks for the recommendation and for stopping by! 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

