Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I Must Read

When you read a lot, you begin to have many people telling you books that you must read. Actually, there are a lot of people in my life who have told me I must read certain books for any number of reasons. And then, there are all the book bloggers I follow and all the books they say people should read. So many books, so little time. The folks over at the Broke and Bookish are asking this week what the top ten books people have been telling you that you must read.

5f1e1-toptentuesday

  1. The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Because the movie is coming out. And because we have it on loan from the Child, so it is a must read while it is in our house.
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Again, because the movie is coming out. But also because everyone that I have talked to or read who read the book loved it.
  3. The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien. I haven’t even watched a movie, but I know so many people who loved these books and keep telling me that I will too.
  4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell. This was really popular last year, but it is still on my list and from time to time, I hear I should pick it up. One day I will… One day…
  5. Mere Christianity and A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis. I lump these together because we have both in an anthology I have been told I should read and have been “getting around to” for years. People tell me to read one because it is great Christian writing and the other because I work a lot with death.
  6. Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler. I did med school. And I have internet. I’m not reading this flipping book. No matter what you, your blog, or friend may say. Also, if I were actually in charge my own fertility, I’d have birthed something by now.
  7. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach. People assume that because I’m in medicine and I’m strangely okay with death, I would be interested in this book. Well, that is indeed true.
  8. Clinical Radiation Oncology by Leonard Gunderson. I know, I’m a big nerd. But, so are many other people in my life who have done the whole Rad Onc thing before me. They say this is a good textbook. Well, this good textbook is likely where much of this year’s textbook allowance is going.
  9. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. This series comes highly recommended to me by my 12 year old “nephew.” But, I have also read about it on a few blogs as well. I don’t know much about mythology, but they do sound interesting.
  10. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. This is one of those books all kinds of people that I have worked with over the years have read and recommended.   I can’t seem to bring myself to pick it up. Maybe one day I’ll change my mind.

What books have people declared “must reads” for you? And do you actually want to read these “must reads,” or could you stand to maybe skip a couple like me?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I Must Read

  1. I’m working on my beach reading list for vacation in a few weeks. I’m looking for mostly light and funny but perhaps Gone Girl will round it out. Everyone seems to like it.

  2. Gunderson and Tepper is a great book. So smooth and shiny with awesome online content and it is one of the few texts that offers management decisions. Do not buy Perez!

    Thus sayeth the geek!

  3. I would suggest staying away from Stiff and rather reading another book about cadavers. I finally read Stiff this year and Mary Roach’s writing style is not appealing AT ALL. Or just read some of the reviews on GoodReads and decide for yourself 🙂

    • I have a friend reading it right now and she said it is very “journalist.”
      Since she has it and I can just borrow it I probably will still read it. But, I trust your judgement and expect I will feel similarl given what I have heard.

  4. I wish I could read as fast as you and that reading didn’t make me sleepy;) However, despite both, I do enjoy reading and I very much promote it:) I also find it relaxing before bed, a good distraction from the day…and it helps me sleep of course! As you know, I’m currently reading “A well-trained mind” by Susan Wise Bauer and Jessie Wise (on homeschooling in a classical education style) and I’m also reading “Freedom of Simplicity” by Richard J. Foster (finding harmony in a complex world through this spiritual discipline). Unfortunately, I don’t read for pleasure very often, but I still enjoy what I read. One book I read for pleasure that I highly recommend was “The Forgotten Garden” by an Australian author, Kate Morton. It bounces between 3 or 4 time frames in history to solve a mystery. Well written and spell-bounding.

    • Reading in bed is some of my favourite kind of reading. Right up there with reading on the beach and in coffee shops. It relaxes me too, but I must say I’m glad it doesn’t make me sleepy. “Freedom from Simplicity” sounds intriguing. I’ll have to look in to “The Forgotten Garden” as well.

Please, share your thoughts!

