Top Ten (Twelve) Characters Who Would Have Sat At My Table In High School

I’m a day late but this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and Bookish was too awesome to pass up. The list is the top ten characters who would have sat at my table in high school.5f1e1-toptentuesday

My table in real high school was a bit of a mixed bag. There were other nerds like me, and then the odd people we acquired and the people we were friends with as a result of various activities (mainly band and musical and yearbook. Half the time I was busy with some lunch time activity like choir or band or various yearbook meetings. But, when I was at the table, it was an interesting time. We often filled more than one table (shockingly) and did “crazy things” like build condiment castles one day and then spend the next cramming for that IB bio test we were all going to fail.

So, I expect my bookish high school table to be similar…

  • Hazel, Gus and Isaac from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I’m serious. Hazel is basically teenage me in a lot of ways, so I’m sure we would have gotten along. And the guys are very much like some of my friends in high school complete with the randomness and interesting characteristics that make them unique.
  • Quentin, Ben and “Radar” from Paper Towns by John Green. Maybe I like his books because he basically writes about characters I get or would have known. Either way, these guys all meet my table criteria. Quirky and nerdy for the win!
  • Eleanor from Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Powell. Misfits and outsiders were welcome. In fact Eleanor reminded me a lot of a couple people we hung out with in junior high and high school. Plus, I would have enjoyed their awesome taste in music.
  • Clay from Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Because the token nice, smart shy guy has to eat somewhere.
  • The 4 girls from The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares. Yes, all 4 of them. Because they are basically my 3 closest friends and I anyway, so why not include them all at the table?

Well, that is 12 people, so I guess the table is too full.  I think it is just a bit cozy.

What characters would have been at your lunch table?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten (Twelve) Characters Who Would Have Sat At My Table In High School

Please, share your thoughts!

