Reblog: “In Defense of Doctors”

I read this the other day on a friend’s Facebook page and I liked it enough to want to share it with other people.  Check it out, it is called “In Defense of Doctors” by The Murrays.

In a day and age where everyone has information at their fingertips, it seems that distrust of the medical system is everywhere.  I work and function in that system every day.  I also am a patient in that same system.  I have to trust it.  I can be well educated and informed, but I go in expecting my physician or nurse or other caregiver to know their stuff too.  These people go to school for years.  They sacrifice their lives.  They don’t want to do stuff to harm you.  I’m certain of it.

I have on more than one occasion come home and worried about a patient I left at work.  Or spent hours scouring the internet for the right answer.  That is what it means to be in a caring profession.

Please trust that we care.  And we have your best interest at heart.  We sacrificed a lot to get here.  It doesn’t stop with you.

Please, share your thoughts!

