Books I Wouldn’t Mind Finding Under My Tree 2014

It has been a long time since I have done a Top Ten Tuesday with the Broke and the Bookish. And the topic this week is about books I’m most looking forward to in 2015. Given the fact that I have been doing little fun reading (for some reason school and sleep have been prioritized) and that I pretty much consistently live in a cave, I decided that I will participate but will do a list that is slated in a few weeks time (partly to help people who ask me what books I want this year) the list of books I wouldn’t mind finding under my tree.5f1e1-toptentuesday

First of all… Confessions…. The M family has a lot of books. And it seems that I am gaining a bigger and bigger to be read pile. Second confession… I have been too sick and busy to really window shop for books a lot, so my “books I want” list isn’t as long as it often is.

  1. Another book by Rainbow Rowell. I LOVED Eleanor & Park. LOVED. As a result, I want to read everything else she is written. Seriously… Landline or Fangirl or They all sounds grand.
  2. Lola and the Boy Next Door or Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. I am embarrassed to have these on my list. But, I love a good light read as much as anyone and these definitely fall under that category.
  3. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors and the Collision of Two Cultures by Anne Fadiman. This was on my list last year and I have yet to acquire the books, so I am putting it on again. I have a fascination with how different cultures view illness and medicine and how “my world” and “their world” connect.  This would be a great lesson.
  4. Desiring God; Loving. Doing. by John Piper. I enjoy his writing style and really get a lot out of reading his books. These are two that I have had my eye on for a little while.
  5. Gillian Flynn’s other books. Gone Girl was probably one of the scariest, most disturbing books I have read in some time (probably since I liked scary books when I was a tween). That being said, it was a great read, so I would try another one out. Even if it will probabably freak the heck out of me.
  6. When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman. I stumbled upon this in one of the many displays in Chapters. The title was intriguing but the story sounds good too.
  7. The Secret Life of Bees or The Invention of Wings: A Novel by Sue Monk Kidd. I keep hearing great things about her writing, but I have yet to read anything she has written.
  8. My Salinger Year by Joanna Rakoff. I love nonfiction, but I don’t read enough of it. This book combines the fascinating world of writers (it is like looking into a world I would like to be in if I wasn’t in my own) with a kind of coming of age/attaining status in the world story.
  9. A Train In Winter by Caroline Moorehead. I need more history in my life and this is history with the human side of things.
  10. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Everyone lives grief, but I see it every day at work in addition to the stuff in my own life. I want to learn everything I can about it so I can help and understand it more and more. This book offers a look at one woman’s experience of grief and comes highly recommended in another book I loved, The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwabe.

Let’s face it. I’m open to most books. And I really don’t need any books.

4 thoughts on “Books I Wouldn’t Mind Finding Under My Tree 2014

  1. Gone Girl is probably the least disturbing book Gillian Flynn has written! It’s also my favorite of hers, but her other two were good. I also recommend everything by Rainbow Rowell. Eleanor and Park was actually my least favorite of her books. Attachments is my favorite!

    • I have heard that Gone Girl is likely the least disturbing. Makes me a bit nervous to read the others, but at the same time, if they are nearly as good it will be worth the freak out.
      You definitely make the other books by Rainbow Rowell look promising… Hopefully I will get to some more soon! Attachments does sound really good!

Please, share your thoughts!

