Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

After one of those insane days where the work just seemed to keep piling up, I am finally back home chillaxing with the husband and watching the Buddy the Elf the Musical. It is pretty cute so far.

Because it is Tuesday, I figured it is a good way to relax while doing my Top Ten Tuesday list with the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is the top ten books I read in 2014.5f1e1-toptentuesday

  1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I feel like every list I have made lately (all 2 of them) have raved about my love of this book. But seriously, I really did love it.
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. By far the most disturbing book I have ever read, it had me glued to it (once I got past the first few chapters).
  3. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. This was funny and adorable all at the same time. I related to the main character in ways I’m embarrassed to admit.
  4. Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson. This was by far one of my most surprising likes in the realm of books. It was a beautiful journey and took me back to another era.
  5. The End Of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe. I’m always weak for true stories and for stories about people living in the medical system and books. This book combines all of these things for a heartfelt look at a mother and son’s literary and life journey.
  6. This Momentary Marriage by John Piper. This was a really neat book in the way it addressed marriage and relationships as they reflect the gospel and about the covenant that marriage truly is. I learned a lot reading it.
  7. The Meaning of Marriage by Tim Keller. I was on a big marriage reading kick this year apparently. This was another fabulous look at the covenant of marriage with a more practical, but still gospel driven approach.
  8. Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I didn’t expect to enjoy this book as much as I did, but I find myself chomping at the bit waiting for the next book in the series.
  9. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I seem to consistently love his books and this was no exception. It blew my mind how so many story lines were so closely intertwined. I loved seeing their lives play out before my eyes.
  10. The Silver Star by Jeanette Walls. She is another author who never fails to impress me. Her characters are consistently so multidimensional and real, yet they have just the right level of bizarre.

What were your favourite reads of 2014?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

Please, share your thoughts!

