Top Ten Books That Kept Me Up Past My Bed Time

It has been a bit since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday with the folks over at the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is about book clubs. I would love to be in a book club (no, journal club does not count). But, alas that is not in the cards any time soon (unless you count my plans to drag the Creature with me to the kids programs at our new library once he makes an appearance).5f1e1-toptentuesday

So, I’m going with the freebie from last week. And my freebie item of choice is the top ten books that kept me up past my bed time. And I did not included textbooks that were involved with studying (plus, I don’t often study past my bedtime anyway).

  1. Hannah’s Dream by Diane Hammond. I didn’t know a book about an elephant could make me feel the way this one did.
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Yes, I stayed up late reading the end and then had crazy dreams.
  3. Ten Thousand Saints by Eleanor Henderson. I just cared way too much about these characters.
  4. Looking For Alaska by John Green. Once I hit a certain soul crushing point, I had to keep going just to know what happened.
  5. The Fault in our Stars by John Green. I read this whole book over the course of a call shift and post call day. I got angry when pages interrupted my reading and it took a lot of will power by the time I finally thought I could settle for the night not just to stay up and read (because I was probably going to be woken up anyway).
  6. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I’m pretty sure I stayed up way to late reading each of these books while I was away on an elective.
  7. The Case For Christ by Lee Strobel. This really surprised me in a number of ways. I quite liked it and again as a result stayed up to keep reading on more than one night.
  8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Sometimes you just have to know what will happen, even when you already know it is probably not going to be good.
  9. The Silver Star by Jeannette Walls. She draws you in and the next thing you know, you are almost done and might as well finish it the same night.
  10. Twilight and the other books in that series by Stephanie Meyer. Don’t judge. I would allow myself to read one after every exam in Med2 before things got crazy again for a period of time. Between the excitement of reading for fun and the fact that they are pretty engaging books, I wanted to read the whole thing at once.

What books have kept you up late?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Kept Me Up Past My Bed Time

Please, share your thoughts!

