Top Ten “Classic” Novels I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday list with the Broke and the Bookish is “the top ten books from genre x I can’t believe I haven’t read.” I feel like I can make a list in many genres, but I am going to go with the “classic” book genre.5f1e1-toptentuesday

I like to think I am well-read. That I have read all kinds of stuff because I want to and like to, but really, there are just so many more important works that I still haven’t read and many, many people have.

  1. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. We actually got this as a Christmas gift from a friend. Patrick has now read it, but I still have not.
  2. 1984 by George Orwell. I see this intermittently on sale shelves at Chapters or hear it referenced in TV shows and movies. Still haven’t read it.
  3. Animal Farm by George Orwell. Another Orwell book. Clearly, I am avoiding him. I feel like a lot of people read this book in high school. I skipped that step.
  4. The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger. This is another book that gets referenced all the time by different people because seemingly everyone read it in school except for me.
  5. Lord of the Flies by William Golding. Another high school miss.
  6. Sophie’s Choice by William Styron. I almost bought this with part of our Christmas Chapter’s gift card haul. But I opted not to because I know it will be easily found in the library because it is another popular and well-referenced work of literature.
  7. Dr Zhivago by Boris Pasternak. It sounds interesting and sad and right up my alley. Yet I have not read it.
  8. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Sometimes I wonder what I really did read in high school/university given the theoretically great books I have missed out on. I still sadly don’t really know much about this book other than what movies/TV refer to.
  9. Moby Dick by Herman Melville. This is one of the few books I picked up and then put down after a few chapters.   It is shocking I actually gave up on a book.  I want to try again.
  10. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I got this as a free ebook on my e-reader. I need to actually read it.

What “classics” do you have yet to read?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten “Classic” Novels I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. Catcher in the Rye is on my to-read list also. I can’t believe, as an English major, it was never required. Picture of Dorian Gray about put me to sleep, if I remember. And I fear Moby Dick would do the same. But 1984 and The Scarlet Letter stuck with me . . .

    • It is bizarre how we miss out on books even though you would think they would be on lists somewhere along the way through school. Patrick was an English major too and he hasn’t read many of the books on my list either.

  2. I haven’t read a few of these either, and I have no idea why! The only excuse I can come up with is that there are just too many books to read and not enough time! 🙂

Please, share your thoughts!

