Just another day (and a “normal” one, at that)

It is Valentine’s Day.

Surprise world!

Image from nerdier.com.br

I know, you were oblivious.  I mean, if the ads and heart shaped crap everywhere didn’t give it away, it if your *apparently* love sick friends who post how awesome their spouse/partner/child is and how much they love him/her.

Last year, we had a friend text us saying thanks for not being so in your face and annoying about our relationships.  That she knew we loved each other and that she appreciated our not flaunting it all over the place.

We laughed, but I appreciated it because sometimes, I think people think I am a terrible person because I am so not sappy.

But really, you can show you care about someone without being all dramatic and in-your-face.  There is no reason to  try make everyone jealous or show off your great relationship.  To me (and this is my opinion), sometimes, the best proof of a good relationship is when people get along and function on a day to day basis.  Not just because of a made-up holiday.  In fact, Patrick saw an article earlier this year that said that couples that “flaunt” relationships are often statistically less happy than those who don’t (no, I can’t site the source… I am far too lazy for that).

Image from someecards.

Also, I need to point out that I hate public displays of affection and the creation of a “holiday” to share love.   Even though love is great and should be shared.  I just think it shouldn’t be so commercialized and sexualized.

So, this day drives me as crazy now as it did when I was single.

But, today was a good day.  I had band and went to the gym and cleaned.  We got to spend time with the lovely Child and D and play “Ticket to Ride,” which is an awesome game, in case you were wondering (check out the Tabletop video below).  Seriously.  It was easy to learn and efficient to play.  Also, it was one of the least disruptive games we have played (we tend to get kind of loud and aggressive), but not in a bad way.

Now, it is hockey night in the M house (if I can stay awake for the whole game).  And I get to drink from my new mason jar mug and enjoy flowers (because my romantic husband intentionally ignores my dislike for the holiday).  I also am having a skip the homework day today with the exception of submitting my abstract for a conference next fall that I probably won’t go to because flying across the country with an almost 3 month old seems like a not so good idea.

Today was like a normal people day.  I like those days.  I don’t need dates or fancy things or mush to be happy.  I just like being able to do things I enjoy and having a clean house, good food and friends.  I’m grateful.

4 thoughts on “Just another day (and a “normal” one, at that)

  1. Is it okay if I publicly profess my love for Wil Wheaton? 😉

    I feel the same way about today. We don’t get into it either, never have. I don’t care about jewelry and flowers or the sappy stuff, which definitely makes my husband happy.

    • I’m okay with that! 🙂
      I’m glad I’m not alone on the Valentine’s day thing. My husband sometimes jokes that my dislike for that stuff is great because my threshold for being pleased with surprises and gifts is so low, I’m almost aways surprised and impressed.

  2. “To me (and this is my opinion), sometimes, the best proof of a good relationship is when people get along and function on a day to day basis.” YES to this!

    I also really like Ticket to Ride!

    • 🙂
      I’m excited to find another Ticket to Ride fan! It seems I had no clue how awesome the game is and how many people like it until I got it and started playing it myself (that whole one time I’ve had a chance to play so far).

Please, share your thoughts!

