Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

This week’s photo challenge with the Daily Post is called “Monument.”

Monuments are pretty cool.  I like seeing the famous ones, but sometimes, it is the local and the functional that I find really fascinate me.

Maybe because I come from a costal town and maybe because I love being near the water.  Maybe because I am practical.  But, I think lighthouses are kind of cool when they are still in their natural location and still doing something.

Last Spring, Patrick and I went on a field trip to visit a tourist spot where there is a lighthouse.  We discovered it is pretty popular. It was built almost 100 years ago and a lighthouse has been on that spot for almost 150 years.  That is pretty old, especially for a lighthouse that gets hammered by wind and sometimes waves day in and out..

IMG_3880 IMG_3898

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

    • Thanks!
      It blows my mind that you haven’t visited a lighthouse. They were everywhere (okay, some exaggeration here) when I was growing up, so to me they are commonplace, although less and less so because the coastguard deemed most of them “surplus” a few years ago.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument | small house/BIG GARDEN

Please, share your thoughts!