Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

It is yet another Tuesday, which means that it is time for another Top Ten Tuesday with the folks at the Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is the top ten books I was forced to read.  By forced, I am taking it to mean those books that I was required to read for school or other groups.

I was a funny kid in that I generally liked most of the books that we read in classes with the exception of a few specific selections (some of which I have since read again and loved).  But, these are the ten favourites that I remember.

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  I would suspect this will be on a bunch of lists.  I read this in grade 10 English and it was probably one of the best books I have read… Ever.
  2. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.  I read this in both grade 5 and grade 6 and it was one of the first books that I read that looked seriously at some of the issues that affected people, particularly kids, during World War II.
  3. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl.  This was the first Dahl book I read and it started a big love of mine.
  4. The Tin Flute by Gabrielle Roy.  I was one of the few people in my class who liked this book.  I didn’t love the characters, but it was interesting to read.
  5. One Day In The Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitzyn.  This is one of those books that is  short and easy to read, but that it brings you to the place… To the point that you feel cold with the characters.
  6. The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen.  This was another book that I read two years in a row for different classes.  I will never forget how my mind was blown with his survival techniques and how a kid could live on his own in the woods like that.
  7. The Wave by Todd Strasser.  This book was eye opening and mind blowing in that someone could basically re-create the Nazi movement in a high school.  And yet, it isn’t all that surprising.  It definitely taught me to think before I jump on a bandwagon (always a good life lesson in high school).
  8. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.  I was not at all excited to be assigned this book, but it was an interesting read and totally something that I would not have picked up on my own.  At least not until now.
  9. The Fudge book series by Judy Blume.  We had at least two or three of these as required reading at one point or another in elementary school.  They were funny and cute.
  10. Practical Theology for Women by Wendy Horger Alsup.  I read this for a women’s Sunday school class that I only got to attend once a month or so.  It was well worth the read.

What are some books that you were forced to read and happened to really like?    

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

  1. The Hatchet and Fudge were required readings for you? That’s awesome! I loved those books, and I think my friends would have liked required reading more if books like that were required reading here.
    I haven’t read Lois Lowry yet, but I keep intending to.

  2. Other than To Kill A Mockingbird, I’ve only read Dr. Jykell and Mr. Hyde from your list, and I actually didn’t like it at all. I didn’t like most of the books I read that year (freshman in high school). Maybe I can blame my teacher… Actually, I think it just might have been too dark for me at that time.

    • That is when I read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde too. I think I went in with such low, begrudging expectations that it pleasantly surprised me.
      When doing this list, I realized that almost everything I read (minus the Hatchet) in middle school, I hated. Mind you, I was a tween and hated many things, but still… Maybe it was the teacher, maybe it was the curriculum. I’m not sure.

Please, share your thoughts!

