Twisted MixTape: Scary Songs

I had so much fun doing the whole twisted mix-tape (hosted Jen at My Skewed View) thing last week that I am doing it again!  This week’s theme is appropriate to today being Halloween… Scary songs.

I think too much and I scare too easily, so lots of songs freak me out.  These are some of the top ones on my list, though.

Pumped Up Kicks by Foster the People.  I love this song.  I was horrified when I realized that they were singing from the perspective of someone trying to kill other people.  But, I still like the song in a strange sort of way.

Hotel California by The Eagles.  “You can check-out any time you like, but you can never leave!”  Oh goodness!  Such a good song.  So eerie.

Die Erlkong composed by Franz Schubert.  I first heard this song in our IB music class.  The song sounds terrifying even if you haven’t read it, but the poem it is based on when translated is horrifying.  Kid getting attacked by a monster his dad can’t see.  Agh.

The Thunder Rolls by Garth Brooks.  I remember this song kind of freaked me out as a kid, particularly with the music video, but I continued to sing along with it.

Thriller by Michael Jackson.  I am sure this is on so many lists, but it really is a creepy song with a very scary video.  I learned the dance to this when I was in med school (we were zombie doctors who died due to a terrible virus) for a fundraiser.

 

5 thoughts on “Twisted MixTape: Scary Songs

    • I was excited to find that particular video. It helps give the song more perspective.
      I was listening to “Pumped Up Kicks” at the gym today and thought about the whole thing again. Ah!

  1. Pingback: Twisted Tuesday’s Mix Tape: Addicted to You | Cheri Speak

Please, share your thoughts!

